1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can I access my hard drive directly from away from home?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Pbman, Dec 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pbman

    Pbman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    481
    I have a Seagate NAS110 network storage drive. Sadly ,Seagate's Global Access interface doesn't work, which is also know among it's forum contributors

    Is there a way to connect to it directly through the web?

    The unit does have aan set up section-

    Lan Modes- Static and DHCP
    Services-Web Access


    HTTP Port
    (Default: 80) Default
    (Range: 8000 through 8999)

    HTTPS Port
    (Default: 443) Default
    (Range: 8000 through 8999)


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    FTP Service EnableDisable

    Enable Anonymous YesNo

    Port
    (Default: 21) Default
    (Range: 8000 through 8999)

    SSL/TLS Connection EnableDisable


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    UPnP Port Forwarding for Web Access & FTP

    Service EnableDisable


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    NFS Service EnableDisable

    Also- Dynamic DNS


    I'd need help to get to work if I can use this to go direct

    Please let me know

    Thanks in advance

    Rich
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,587
    The existence of "HTTP Port" indicates "yes." Does the user manual say nothing about the subject?
     
  3. Pbman

    Pbman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    481
    The book doesn't go into detail

    I'll copy and paste the page
     
  4. Pbman

    Pbman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    481
    Web Access Protocol Settings
    By default, your BlackArmor NAS 110 server is set to the HTTP Web access protocol. HTTP
    stands for Hypertext Transfer Protocol and is the most common way that data and files are
    stored on the Internet.
    You can set your BlackArmor NAS 110 server to use HTTPS (HTTP over Secure Socket
    Layer) if you have set SSL on the server. (See “Secure Socket Layer (SSL) Settings” on
    page 42.)
    Workgroup and Domain Settings
    By default, your BlackArmor NAS 110 server is set as a workgroup. A workgroup is a number
    of computers on a network that share resources. You can add any computer to the server’s
    workgroup, or you can add the server to an existing workgroup.
    Maintaining Your BlackArmor NAS 110 Server
    BlackArmor® NAS 110 User Guide 43
    Alternatively, you can set your BlackArmor NAS 110 server as a domain member. A domain is
    a group of computers administered as a single unit from a central location.
    When you add the BlackArmor server as a domain member, it is centrally managed by a
    Windows domain controller, which provides another level of security when users attempt to
    access the server. Users within the domain receive their own unique accounts and must be
    authenticated to receive access.
    The domain’s administrator must authorize the BlackArmor server as a domain member. You
    must know the domain administrator’s user name and password to add your server to a
    domain. See the BlackArmor Manager online help for instructions on adding the server as a
    domain member.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,587
    I think that the Workgroup and Domain settings are irrelevant to the web access issue. Maybe your main question is how to get to the NAS or any of your computers from the web? If so, we can address that ...

    First, I assume that you are using a router and have the NAS and at least one computer connected to the router. In the address bar of a browser on the computer type in the NAS's IP address. What do you get?

    Also, what is the brand and model of your router and, if a separate device, your modem?
     
  6. Pbman

    Pbman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    481
    If I enter the IP , it goes to the log in of the drives main software called the Black Armor Discovery

    The modem is a Comcast provided, I think it's a Motorola. The router is a Netgear WNDR 3300
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,587
    And is that what you want to access from the web? If not, I don't know what you have to do--probably some configuration of the NAS.
     
  8. Pbman

    Pbman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    481
    No, I want to access the media I put there. That discovery program only accesses the setup parameters
     
  9. Pbman

    Pbman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    481
    Thanks for all your help, I've decided to use Drop box instead, less hastle and it's free too
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/966825