1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can /I boot from a CD and access my hard drive?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by michaele, Sep 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. michaele

    michaele Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Can this be done? I need to reinstall the OS on the hard drive, but I have to try and get some files off of it first or can I install new OS over the old one without a loss of my files?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,910
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes - you can boot from a CD / floppy
    first do you have a boot CD or floppy
    if not goto
    http://freepctech.com/pc/002/files010.shtml
    http://www.bootdisk.com
    and then you can get a boot floppy and boot to a dos prompt

    Also if you have the windows CD - you should be able to boot that
    However, you may need to change the boot order in the bios to boot the CD before the harddrive

    why are you wanting to rebuild PC ????

    I would get the data you want off and then reformat and rebuild windows OS
     
  3. michaele

    michaele Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    something is corrupt in the OS and while I can start up, I can't drag any files or write a CD. I am looking for a way to fix the OS without losing certain data files. Some are on the desktop and some are in the documents folder. I have an install disk. Can i do this and if I can, how?
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,910
    First Name:
    Wayne
    are the files too big and to many to get on floppy?

    I dont know how to get a CD to write from a boot floppy or boot CD

    even this CD http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/ does not seem to give that facility

    you could take the Harddrive out the PC and put it in another as a slave and copy the data.

    I'm not sure how re-installing windows over the top will work with your data. I know if you do this it will nolonger run any programs you instaled after windows - just cant remember what happened to the mydocuments folder

    hopefully someone else will know
     
  5. michaele

    michaele Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    I put the HD into my other computer and accessed it that way. I'm installing XP as I type. Thanks for your help!
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,910
    First Name:
    Wayne
    thats good news & so quick -
    so if it all works out -
    you can make this as solved - or post another question if anything goes wrong

    (y)
    mark this thread solved - which you have the power to do from your first post.
    goto
    Thread tools>
    Tick - Mark Solved

    Thanks (y)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved boot access
  1. Caznyo
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    268
  2. frenshaw
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    418
  3. Coco767
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    501
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/402280

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice