Solved: can I still use this computer?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Tom_Pro

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2015
Messages
53
Dell optiplex 620
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 4 Stepping 9
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 510 Mb
Graphics Card:
Hard Drives: C: Total - 29996 MB, Free - 22029 MB; D: Total - 29996 MB, Free - 29639 MB; E: Total - 16292 MB, Free - 15462 MB;
Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0HH807
Antivirus: ESET NOD32 Antivirus 8.0, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Messages
1,081
It will be like riding a turtle. If there isn't a graphic card you won't be able to see anything. No card is listed.
 

Tom_Pro

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2015
Messages
53
I think its a radeon 64 or something. It has a squareish input plug, so I had to get an adapter to use my current monitor. What I mean is, If I boost the RAM up to 4 gigs (I think thats the max), will I be able to run Win8 and IE10 or whatever?
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,142
Nope. XP is the last OS that Dell released drivers for for that box.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Messages
1,081
Instead of spending the money to buy Windows 8 and buy more RAM, I'd look on Craigslist and you can probably buy a better computer with 8 already on it for about what you'd spend.
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
To answer your question, Yes it will OK but with the provisos above.
It is not worth adding more than one extra Gb to the memory and not worth installing a newer OS, but, for XPs continued use for now, just make sure you keep the AV up to date.

Look for a new machine.
 

Tom_Pro

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2015
Messages
53
Thanks go out to all of you wise techies. I will not put any money into this computer, but , yes, I will get another more recent model, perhaps from Caigslist. Thank you for your sage advice and apt suggestions. Tom
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top