Solved: Can I swap out a working hard drive and put it in another pc?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

geno368

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
297
I have two pc's with sata drives. both of then are running windows 7 home premium. I want to install Windows 8 on one machine and then use pc mover to move all my programs and files to that windows 8 os pc. Shouldn't either drive work in each machine?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Messages
1,081
Without knowing the specs on the computers there's no way we can know for sure. Can you please give us a little more info?
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
If you are moving the system drive from one computer to another, unless the second computer has identical hardware, the system will not boot with windows 7 originally installed on the other machine. Second if the Installation of windows is an OEM such as from a dell or hp or any other bigbox system, it is illegal to use that installation on any other system. If you however want to add the drive as a second drive so that you can retrieve files and such then it should work just fine.
 

geno368

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
297
Thank you for the replies...
One of them is a gateway which from the factory had vista 64 bit with 6 gb ram. I bought a windows 7 retail and updated it. The other one is an acer aspire which also had Vista but it is now a windows 7 32 bit with 2gb ram.
I wonder if I could just add the second drive on the gateway as a slave and put Windows 8.1 on it
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,159
truth told, if that gateway came with Vista installed, no way it is going to run 8.1......
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,159
when vista was released, 8.1 wasn't even thought of yet. As a result, the hardware that 8.1 will use (as well as drivers) simply didn't exist back then. It would be like taking a 2015 formula 1 engine and tossing it in a Model T.
 

geno368

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
297
Valis, I do have a Dell Latitude E6500 laptop which originally had Vista business and I bought Windows 8 for it last year. I did the 8.1 update and it is running fine. It that because it is a laptop?
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,159
technically it shouldn't work, as according to Dell there are no W8/8.1 drivers for it....you may run into some hardware issues.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,431
The other issue you have is the fact that you are dealing with big box systems ie dell, gateway whatever. The oem windows lic is valid with the original hardware only ie you cannot take a drive with windows and move it to another system. You can however install the drive and clean install whatever os you want. Before installing win8, make sure it is a supported os for your system. If there are no win8 drivers, then you are a beta tester; might work and it might not work.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top