1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can I upgrade my Laptop's video card?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by glbirch, Jan 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. glbirch

    glbirch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    How do I determine if there is room in my two-year old Acer Aspire laptop for a new video card? (I want to put an HDMI port in)? The model is 5334-2598. If so, does anyone know where I can buy one online that is a good one? I am going to see if Best Buy's tech support can install it.
    THANKS!
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,909
    First Name:
    Frank
    One of the negatives of having a laptop over a desktop is the inability to upgrade or add components.

    The vast majority of laptops only give you the option to add more RAM.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    yours is a onboard chip on the m/board not a actual card
     
  4. glbirch

    glbirch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Hate to be thick, but if mine is a chip, this means I CANNOT upgrade, correct? :) I guess my only option is to purchase a VGA to RGB component cable and audio cables to hook up to an HDMI TV? THANKS!
     
  5. Amd_Man

    Amd_Man

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    605
    Onboard Video/graphics = Chip on the motherboard. So yes, you are correct.
     
  6. glbirch

    glbirch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks!
     
  7. matthewdownloads

    matthewdownloads

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    249
  8. glbirch

    glbirch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks! I appreciate the info!
     
  9. matthewdownloads

    matthewdownloads

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    Just something else to be aware of.... if you're hoping to connect a TV for watching 1080p films or something then make sure that your laptop is powerful enough. I'm sure it will be but I'd hate for you to buy adapters etc and then find when you try and play a film it stutters. Blu-Ray does use a lot more CPU power than normal :)
     
  10. Amd_Man

    Amd_Man

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    605
    Excellent advice matthewdownloads. :)
     
  11. glbirch

    glbirch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Won't be using BluRay, but I'm HOPING to watch online TV - like PBS
     
  12. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    Your TV doesn't have VGA in?
     
  13. glbirch

    glbirch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Nope, just HDMI and RGB (component)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084211

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice