1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can not connect wifi router's gateway

Discussion in 'Networking' started by pkhanh, Sep 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pkhanh

    pkhanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    I have a modem and a wifi router, i connect to internet by usb port from modem, and the ethernet port, i connect to the wifi router.

    Modem address is 192.168.1.1
    Router addrss is 192.168.0.1

    I can login to the modem's gateway but can not login to router's (the page keeps connecting)

    Here is my Run/cmd/ipconfig /all

    I did try to change to default gateway of the local connection which i am using, but it's not working.

    C:\Users\Administrator>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ACER
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TRENDCHIP USB ADSL Modem
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-86-C0-D5-39
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c02a:c79c:b0c5:1ef4%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, September 13, 2012 9:50:53 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, September 16, 2012 10:06:30 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 436217222
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-9A-CC-67-00-1D-72-C1-8F-33

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-5C-11-A3-13
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-72-C1-8F-33
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Hope you guys can help me fix it, thank you.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,910
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it looks like you are connecting two routers together
    if the modem is providing the 192.168 address then its acting as a router

    have a read here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together
    From a John Will Post :)

    http://library.techguy.org/wiki/Connecting_two_SOHO_broadband_routers_together

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,006
    First Name:
    Terry
    Which router--the modem/router combo or the "wifi router"? Your computer is not connected to the latter, so it is natural that you cannot login if you are using its LAN address. If its remote access is enabled you should be able to login using its WAN address.
     
  4. pkhanh

    pkhanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    etaf: Thank you, I will try the solution that you suggest right now.

    The solution says much about the 2nd router, but I can not do anything to the 2nd router (wifi router). Can not log in to the gateway (the page keeps connecting) and my primary router is not a wifi router, it's ethernet/usb router, so i connect to internet by usb port, and connect the primary router (E/U router) to the wifi router be ethernet port.

    TerryNet: Wifi router. I don't know what the wifi router's remote access is, and how to enable it ? WAN address ?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,006
    First Name:
    Terry
    It enables you to login to a router "over the internet." To enable it, if it is disabled by default, you need to connect by LAN to login and enable it.

    Whatever the first router assigned. Based on your ipconfig I'd guess 192.168.1.3.

    Just noticed in your ipconfig /all that there are two default gateway addresses. Don't know how that happened or how to fix it, but the 192.168.0.1 is certainly a problem. ???
     
  6. pkhanh

    pkhanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    38

    Yes, 192.168.0.1 is the real problem, i just can't connect to that gateway.

    Just found this in the wifi router's cd.

    [​IMG]

    Almost exactly like my situation but my "ADSL MODEM" is a adsl E/U router and i connect my laptop through its usb port for the internet. There's no "C" step in my case.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,006
    First Name:
    Terry
    Of course you can't. According to your statements and your ipconfig /all you are connected to a router with LAN IP address 192.168.1.1. That is what the Default Gateway should be, whether you are using dynamic addressing or assigning a static IP configuration.

    Try the following, whichever is appropriate, and then post another ipconfig /all so we can see if that bogus 192.168.0.1 goes away.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.


    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  8. pkhanh

    pkhanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    "C:\Users\Administrator>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.
    There's no user specified settings to be reset."

    After reboot, here's IPCONFIG /ALL


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ACER
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TRENDCHIP USB ADSL Modem
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-86-C0-D5-39
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c02a:c79c:b0c5:1ef4%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 14, 2012 12:19:37 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 17, 2012 12:19:36 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 436217222
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-9A-CC-67-00-1D-72-C1-8F-3

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-5C-11-A3-13
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-72-C1-8F-33
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    //Edit a typo in #6.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,006
    First Name:
    Terry
    OK, looks good. Now, if you want to login to the "wifi router" do it the easy way--connect to that router by ethernet or wireless. Even with your current USB connection to the first router you should be able to connect to the second one by Wi-Fi and access it at 192.168.0.1.

    You have your wireless connection set to some unknown static IP configuration, so make sure that is correct or, better, use a dynamic ('obtain IP auto' and 'obtain DSN auto') connection.
     
  10. pkhanh

    pkhanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    I really don't want to disappoint you, TerryNet, because all you replies but it's still not working, the 192.168.1.1 connect well, 192.168.0.1 still keeps connecting and then "Problem loading page"
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,006
    First Name:
    Terry
    You have connected to the second router via Wi-Fi? May we see the ipconfig /all for that? Also ...

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.
     
  12. pkhanh

    pkhanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Well, I use my laptop (which is connect to E/U router using usb connection) and 192.168.0.1 keeps connecting then "Problem loaing page"

    But me laptop can see my wifi network in Wireless Network Connection list, and orther wireless divices can see that, so I think the wifi is on.
    But when I use another laptop, and my ps vita, to connect to that wireless network, it's redirect to 192.168.0.1

    So, from now, my wifi network is on, can connect to the wifi router's gateway somehow but I still can not connect to it's gateway by using the pc that connect by usb port and the wifi is not working.
     
  13. pkhanh

    pkhanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Now I just need to know how to connect both gateway on 1 machine without any glichts between them. TerryNet or etaf please help me.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,006
    First Name:
    Terry
    See post # 9 and post # 11.

    Still don't understand exactly what you are trying to do nor why. If you want to connect to both routers at the same time see post # 9. If you want to connect to only one of the daisy chained routers but be able to login to both either connect to the second router or else see post # 3 and # 5.
     
  15. pkhanh

    pkhanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Thank you for all your hard work, my machine can connect to wifi and can config stuff in it's gateway. I think I'll mark this thread "Solved"
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1068743

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice