1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can Only Get Online With Internet Explorer

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by successgold, Apr 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. successgold

    successgold Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    First Name:
    Joe
    Hi,

    I'm currently only able to get online with Internet Explorer. If I try using Google Chrome, Firefox, Skype, or any other program that accesses the Internet it tells me I'm not connected. I've tried Network and Sharing Center, but I can't find any problems there. Troubleshooting turns up nothing. I've tried reinstalling my wireless LAN card, but that didn't make any difference. I can't think of anything else to try. Please can someone suggest what I can do to access the Internet with other programs?

    I'm using Windows 7 and the following hardware:
    CPU: Intel Core i7 i7-4790K CPU (Quad Core 4GHz, Socket H3 LGA-1150)
    Motherboard: MSI Z97 PC MATE ATX LGA1150
    Memory: Team Vulcan 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600
    Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB WINDFORCE
    Case: NZXT Source 210 Elite (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case
    Power Supply: XFX TS 550W 80+ Gold Certified ATX
    Hard Drive: 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black

    Thanks,
    Joe
     
  2. successgold

    successgold Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    First Name:
    Joe
    I ran cmd and typed ipconfig /all and this is what I got:

    C:\Users\Joe>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Joe-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : lan

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TP-LINK 300Mbps Wireless N Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-6E-1F-51-69-D8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b98c:a21f:b896:c09%20(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.67(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 16 April 2015 07:49:11
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 17 April 2015 08:20:43
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 348417567
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1C-AC-44-BB-D8-CB-8A-3B-90-B1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : D8-CB-8A-3B-90-B1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:1cf4:983:a8b4:5bfb(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1cf4:983:a8b4:5bfb%17(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {FB3FF377-89B8-4670-97D9-5473CEE61577}:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {B3BD69F4-B512-4FA5-90D8-761CA621E8A2}:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Joe>
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,601
    First Name:
    Terry
    Some programs having internet access but others blocked is a strong indication of a firewall misconfigured or corrupted.

    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?
     
  4. successgold

    successgold Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    First Name:
    Joe
    I'm using ZoneAlarm Pro. The only other firewalls that've ever been on my computer are the free version of ZoneAlarm and the one built into Windows. I've just tried uninstalling and reinstalling ZoneAlarm, but it hasn't made any difference.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,601
    First Name:
    Terry
  6. successgold

    successgold Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    First Name:
    Joe
    I just uninstalled with the ZoneAlarm Uninstall Tool, restarted and tested and I still had the same problem. I've now reinstalled ZoneAlarm Pro.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,601
    First Name:
    Terry
    Sometimes a VPN, even if not active, will block similar to a firewall. But other than a VPN I have no idea.
     
  8. successgold

    successgold Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    First Name:
    Joe
    OK, thanks for trying. Does anyone else have any ideas?
     
  9. successgold

    successgold Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    First Name:
    Joe
    I've run several antispyware programs and I'm now able to access the Internet with all the programs that I should be able to which is great, however I now have another problem. I keep getting the Blue Screen of Death a few minutes after logging in. This always happens unless I'm in safe mode in which case the computer works fine. Here's the screen I get:

    [​IMG]

    Here's the message I get in the dialog box afterwards:

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.4
    Locale ID: 2057

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: d1
    BCP1: 0000000000000028
    BCP2: 0000000000000002
    BCP3: 0000000000000000
    BCP4: FFFFF880015986FD
    OS Version: 6_1_7601
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 256_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\041715-29577-01.dmp
    C:\Users\Joe\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-189135-0.sysdata.xml

    Read our privacy statement online:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

    If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
    C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

    Here are the links to the files that help describe the problem:
    041715-29577-01.dmp
    WER-189135-0.sysdata.xml
     
  10. bwn_us

    bwn_us

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Rebuild winsock. I had the same problem tried many, many suggestions before I found someone on another forum who told me to rebuild winsock...poof fixed.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,601
    First Name:
    Terry
    I think that the following stack repairs includes the "Rebuild WINSOCK" advice ...

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista through 10.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8 thru 10: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine after all three commands; no need to boot after the 1st and 2nd.
     
  12. successgold

    successgold Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    First Name:
    Joe
    Thanks for the suggestion, but unfortunately it hasn't helped.
     
  13. navid284

    navid284

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Have u recently changed or uninstalled microsoft .net stuff or simillar program or windows update ?
     
  14. successgold

    successgold Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    First Name:
    Joe
    It seems I had a lot of corrupt Windows files, so I've reinstalled Windows and it's fine now. Thanks for the help.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146663

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice