Solved: Can Only Web Surf for 5 Min's! Please help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Zayta

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
27
Please I'm begging for help I'm going crazy.
I can only web Surf for 5 min's maybe 10 at the very most
after that My browser stops responding and it brings up the Internet Explorer Cannot Display This Page." If I reboot
I can surf for another 5 mins than the same thing it
craps out! I have done all the Virus and Spyware scans
that I can think, checked all the hardware. Please Help
Here is My Highjackthis scan, I shutdown all Virus programs
Spyware and Firewalls before running this.
Also Sending and receiving email with outlook express
is never affected, but downloads are they stop.
Thank you I look forward to some help


Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 10:10:27 AM, on 7/12/07
Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.50 SP1 (5.50.4522.1800)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\BROADJUMP\CLIENT FOUNDATION\CFD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC SELF SUPPORT TOOL\SMARTBRIDGE\MOTIVESB.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\TREND MICRO\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/sb/*http://www.yahoo.com/search/ie.html
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.att.net/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.worldnet.att.net
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/su/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by AT&T WorldNet Service
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = 127.0.0.1
R3 - URLSearchHook: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - (no file)
O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BJCFD] C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Motive SmartBridge] C:\PROGRA~1\SBCSEL~1\SMARTB~1\MotiveSB.exe
O4 - .DEFAULT Startup: PowerReg Scheduler.exe (User 'Default user')
O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE (file missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MSN Messenger Service - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: Netnews - {8E5E2F80-EBEE-11D7-A6DC-E5E239637D30} - news:worldnet.help.new-users (file missing) (HKCU)
O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.worldnet.att.net
O16 - DPF: {5F03EAB4-1AD5-11D4-AE99-0050DAC24E8F} - http://www.iwon.com/ct/in_wn/iwonslot1,0,1,5.cab

--
End of file - 2512 bytes
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
Hi, Zayta :)

Welcome.

Windows 98. Not too many utilities are now compatible with this OS. Lets try to scan the system:

Download Superantispyware (SAS)
  1. Install it and double-click the icon on your desktop to run it.
  2. It will ask if you want to update the program definitions, click Yes.
  3. Under Configuration and Preferences, click the Preferences button.
  4. Click the Scanning Control tab.
  5. Under Scanner Options make sure the following are checked:
    • Close browsers before scanning
    • Scan for tracking cookies
    • Terminate memory threats before quarantining.
    • Please leave the others unchecked.
    • Click the Close button to leave the control center screen.
  6. On the main screen, under Scan for Harmful Software click Scan your computer.
  7. On the left check C:\Fixed Drive.
  8. On the right, under Complete Scan, choose Perform Complete Scan.
  9. Click Next to start the scan. Please be patient while it scans your computer.
  10. After the scan is complete a summary box will appear. Click OK.
  11. Make sure everything in the white box has a check next to it, then click Next.
  12. It will quarantine what it found and if it asks if you want to reboot, click Yes.
  13. To retrieve the removal information, please do the following:
    • After reboot, double-click the SUPERAntispyware icon on your desktop.
    • Click Preferences. Click the Statistics/Logs tab.
    • Under Scanner Logs, double-click SUPERAntiSpyware Scan Log.
    • It will open in your default text editor (such as Notepad/Wordpad).
    • Please highlight everything in the notepad, then right-click and choose copy.
  14. Click close and close again to exit the program.
  15. Please paste that information in your next reply.
Please go HERE to run Panda's ActiveScan
  • Once you are on the Panda site click the Scan your PC button
  • A new window will open...click the Check Now button
  • Enter your Country
  • Enter your State/Province
  • Enter your e-mail address and click send
  • Select either Home User or Company
  • Click the big Scan Now button
  • If it wants to install an ActiveX component allow it
  • It will start downloading the files it requires for the scan (Note: It may take a couple of minutes)
  • When download is complete, click on My Computer to start the scan
  • When the scan completes, if anything malicious is detected, click the See Report button, then Save Report and save it to a convenient location.
Post a fresh Hijackthis log along with the SuperAntispyware and ActiveScan reports.
 

Zayta

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
27
Thank you I need help this really sucks.
I did what you said to do, the only thing
is after the Panda Activescan, I can't
get a report because it needs a internet
connection and mine stops long before
the scan is done. But here is what I
could get.


SUPERAntiSpyware Scan Log
http://www.superantispyware.com

Generated 07/13/2007 at 01:13 AM

Application Version : 3.9.1008

Core Rules Database Version : 3259
Trace Rules Database Version: 1270

Scan type : Complete Scan
Total Scan Time : 01:00:58

Memory items scanned : 111
Memory threats detected : 0
Registry items scanned : 1516
Registry threats detected : 0
File items scanned : 21978
File threats detected : 16

Adware.Tracking Cookie
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][2].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][2].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][1].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][1].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][2].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][2].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][1].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][1].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][1].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][1].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][2].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][1].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][2].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][1].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][2].txt
C:\WINDOWS\Cookies\william [email protected][1].txt


Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 2:50:21 AM, on 7/13/07
Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.50 SP1 (5.50.4522.1800)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\BROADJUMP\CLIENT FOUNDATION\CFD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC SELF SUPPORT TOOL\SMARTBRIDGE\MOTIVESB.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SUPERANTISPYWARE\SUPERANTISPYWARE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\TREND MICRO\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/sb/*http://www.yahoo.com/search/ie.html
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.att.net/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.worldnet.att.net
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/su/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by AT&T WorldNet Service
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = 127.0.0.1
R3 - URLSearchHook: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - (no file)
O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BJCFD] C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Motive SmartBridge] C:\PROGRA~1\SBCSEL~1\SMARTB~1\MotiveSB.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SUPERAntiSpyware] C:\PROGRAM FILES\SUPERANTISPYWARE\SUPERANTISPYWARE.EXE
O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [SUPERAntiSpyware] C:\PROGRAM FILES\SUPERANTISPYWARE\SUPERANTISPYWARE.EXE (User 'Default user')
O4 - .DEFAULT Startup: PowerReg Scheduler.exe (User 'Default user')
O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE (file missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MSN Messenger Service - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: Netnews - {8E5E2F80-EBEE-11D7-A6DC-E5E239637D30} - news:worldnet.help.new-users (file missing) (HKCU)
O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.worldnet.att.net
O16 - DPF: {5F03EAB4-1AD5-11D4-AE99-0050DAC24E8F} - http://www.iwon.com/ct/in_wn/iwonslot1,0,1,5.cab
O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://acs.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5free/asinst.cab
O20 - Winlogon Notify: !SASWinLogon - C:\PROGRAM FILES\SUPERANTISPYWARE\SASWINLO.DLL

--
End of file - 3011 bytes
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
Hi, Zayta :)

There is no sign of malware.

Reset your DNS cache, you will need to launch the Windows command prompt.

In Windows 98/ME click Start then Run and type COMMAND and click OK.

Then, to actually clear the cache, type the following at the prompt:

ipconfig /flushdns

If the cache successfully cleared, you will see something like this:

C:\>ipconfig /flushdns
Windows IP Configuration
Successfully flushed the DNS Resolver Cache.

Restart the computer and test.
 

Zayta

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
27
Thanks for all help!
I did the Ipconfig /flushdns
No change, I still can only surf for 5 min's!
I did find this on net: Prior versions of Windows for consumers (Windows 95/98/Me) didn't cache unsuccessful DNS lookups, so they don't experience this problem, but Windows XP has a "DNS Client" service that does cache unsuccessful lookups by default.

I need more help this is so bad!!!!! Please I really need more help!
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
I will have a Network MVP to take a look at this.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Please supply the following info.

The name of your ISP and country of residence.
Make/model of the broadband modem. If dial-up, please specify.
Make/model of the router (if any).
Connection type, wired, wireless.
Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).

Is this W98 or W98SE?
 

Zayta

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
27
My ISP is AT&T Dsl
Country is USA, Ohio
Modem is Siemens Speedstream 4100
Connection is wired
Network Card is Linksys Model# LNE 100tx v5.1
Computer Make is Dell Dimension xps T500
I'm running Win98 4.10.1998
I have Windows 98 SE Cd Full ver that I use
when I need a windows disk.

Thanks for helping I'm going nuts with this 5 mins
for time I get per boot.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
The fact that it runs for five minutes then craps out seems to indicate it's an application that's running and causing the problem. When it stops connecting to the Internet through IE, do this.

Try these simple tests.

Start, Run, COMMAND to open a command prompt:

PING 216.109.112.135

Tell us the results.

PING yahoo.com

Tell us the results.
 

Zayta

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
27
Sorry it took so long to get back to you.
I had all kinds of trouble. I sure hope
this can get fixed, it is drving me crazy!
Here are the results you wanted:
C:\WINDOWS\Desktop>ping 216.109.112.135

Pinging 216.109.112.135 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=56
Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=56
Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=56
Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 54ms, Maximum = 56ms, Average = 55ms

Pinging yahoo.com [66.94.234.13] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 66.94.234.13: bytes=32 time=119ms TTL=56
Reply from 66.94.234.13: bytes=32 time=119ms TTL=56
Reply from 66.94.234.13: bytes=32 time=119ms TTL=56
Reply from 66.94.234.13: bytes=32 time=119ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 66.94.234.13:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 119ms, Maximum = 119ms, Average = 119ms

Thanks for all help that can be sent my way.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
What happens if you type 66.94.234.13 into the address bar of IE? Do you get to Yahoo's main page?
 

Zayta

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
27
I get this before or after.

Yahoo! - Help
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sorry, the page you requested was not found.
Please check the URL for proper spelling and capitalization. If you're still having trouble locating a destination on Yahoo!, try visiting the Yahoo! home page (www.yahoo.com), or look through a list of Yahoo!'s online services. Also, you may find what you're looking for if you try searching below.

· advanced search
· most popular



Please try Yahoo! Help Central if you need more assistance.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Copyright © 2007 Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy - Terms of Service
 

Zayta

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
27
I get no problems found.
The other day I downloaded that program and ran it.
I have been reading and reading and looking for some kind of fix.
I'm getting 10 min's to the reboot, you can set you watch by it.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Start, Run, COMMAND to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top