1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can Ping but can't browse

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Dragonspeaker, Jul 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dragonspeaker

    Dragonspeaker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Good day
    I am in need of some assitance. I apologize if my message is long, but I want to provide all necessary information to solve my problem as I am at the end of my rope.

    I am unable to browse on the internet, I have tried many things to resolve the issue, see below:
    -In LAN setting, I tried to with Automatic connection detection checked and unchecked
    -Deleted cookies and browsing history
    -Renewed IP address
    -Flushed DNS
    -Used Winsock repair
    -Tried to repair TCP/IP (suggestion from a post a saw on this site)
    -Disabled Anti-Virus, Firewall, and spyware
    -Installed Firefox
    -Formatted and reinstalled Windows

    Even after reinstalation, problem still persist. I am able to ping my IP address and other web sites (yahoo) Funny thing, if I enter the web site address in myself, like Google, I can get to the page, but after that it does not work, and it is not for every sites, only a few sites. Before reinstalation I could not browse the internet, but I could still play online games. Before that, I had the same problem, then a new windows update got installed and I could browse again, but only for a week, then problem came back.

    I use Windows XP, I have a DSL LAN connection with a Linksis router with another computer which uses Windows Vista (that computer's connection is working fine btw)

    Below are logs I took with "ipconfig /all" and "Highjackthis"

    Highjackthis Log:
    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 8:10:31 PM, on 22/07/2008
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)
    Boot mode: Normal
    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
    C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NvMixer\NVMixerTray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe
    C:\Program Files\Nero\Nero 7\InCD\NBHGui.exe
    C:\Program Files\Nero\Nero 7\InCD\InCD.exe
    C:\Program Files\Samsung\Samsung Media Studio 5\SMSTray.exe
    C:\Program Files\MarkAny\ContentSafer\MAAgent.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\ATKKBService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Nero\Nero 7\InCD\InCDsrv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\LightScribe\LSSrvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\Program Files\CyberLink\Shared Files\RichVideo.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wpabaln.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows NT\Accessories\wordpad.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = wmplayer.exe //ICWLaunch
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NVMixerTray] "C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NvMixer\NVMixerTray.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RemoteControl] "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LanguageShortcut] "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\Language\Language.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Ahead\Lib\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SecurDisc] C:\Program Files\Nero\Nero 7\InCD\NBHGui.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InCD] C:\Program Files\Nero\Nero 7\InCD\InCD.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SMSTray] C:\Program Files\Samsung\Samsung Media Studio 5\SMSTray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MAAgent] C:\Program Files\MarkAny\ContentSafer\MAAgent.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'SYSTEM')
    O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'Default user')
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nwprovau.dll
    O23 - Service: ATK Keyboard Service (ATKKeyboardService) - ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. - C:\WINDOWS\ATKKBService.exe
    O23 - Service: InCD Helper (InCDsrv) - Nero AG - C:\Program Files\Nero\Nero 7\InCD\InCDsrv.exe
    O23 - Service: LightScribeService Direct Disc Labeling Service (LightScribeService) - Hewlett-Packard Company - C:\Program Files\Common Files\LightScribe\LSSrvc.exe
    O23 - Service: NBService - Nero AG - C:\Program Files\Nero\Nero 7\Nero BackItUp\NBService.exe
    O23 - Service: NMIndexingService - Nero AG - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Ahead\Lib\NMIndexingService.exe
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    O23 - Service: Cyberlink RichVideo Service(CRVS) (RichVideo) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\CyberLink\Shared Files\RichVideo.exe
    --
    End of file - 3960 bytes

    "Ipconfig /all" Log
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ldionne
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-D4-F4-F8-0C
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.105
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.200.241.37
    24.201.245.77
    24.200.243.189
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : July 22, 2008 7:50:48 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : July 23, 2008 7:50:48 PM

    Any help would be much appreciated. I don't know what to do anymore. If more information is needed please advise.

    Thank you in advance
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Can you ping yahoo.com by name, or just by IP address?

    Please do this.

    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    IPCONFIG

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. Dragonspeaker

    Dragonspeaker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Here are the result. Thanks for the quick reply !

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Louis Dionne>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.105
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    C:\Documents and Settings\Louis Dionne>ping 192.168.1.105

    Pinging 192.168.1.105 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.1.105: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.105: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.105: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.105: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.105:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Louis Dionne>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Louis Dionne>ping 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=51
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=51
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=51
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 23ms, Maximum = 24ms, Average = 23ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Louis Dionne>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [68.180.206.184] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=86ms TTL=48
    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=86ms TTL=48
    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=86ms TTL=48
    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=86ms TTL=48

    Ping statistics for 68.180.206.184:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 86ms, Maximum = 86ms, Average = 86ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Louis Dionne>
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Try booting in Safe Mode with Networking, see if browsing works there.

    This sounds like a firewall settings issue, did you try disabling any firewall to see if that helps?

    What version of IE are you using, 6 or 7?
     
  5. Dragonspeaker

    Dragonspeaker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    I have rebooted in safe mode. I was able to link to Wikipedia and browse as normal. But everywhere else was the same I could not browse. As mentionned before I had disabled the firewall, I also disabled the firewall when I rebooted in safe mode, it did not change anything.

    I was using IE 7 when problem started, when I reinstalled windows it rolled it back to IE 6.
     
  6. Dragonspeaker

    Dragonspeaker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Got fed up and got a new computer, was due for a change anyways. Thanks for the support.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That's a novel solution! :D
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/733450

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice