1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can ping website but cannot load website

Discussion in 'Networking' started by windowserror, Jul 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. windowserror

    windowserror Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    I'm having trouble setting up my internet on a computer. I tried all the usual things and have narrowed the problem down to something between the computer and the router. I opened up the router (Linksys Wireless-G) page (with all the router settings, I know its got a name...) on the computer and have checked all the settings against another computer on the same router that works fine. I then went into the diagnostics page of the router settings and began trying to ping various websites. It successfully pinged www.google.com, but when I tried to open the same site in Firefox it would not load. I pasted the IP address for Google, 74.125.67.103, into Firefox and it loaded the page. When I try a search, or try to navigate away from the page I'm told that "the page cannot be displayed" just like before. I don't understand the problem, I can send and receive data but I can't open any webpages. I'm assuming there's a setting somewhere that I've overlooked, could someone please point me in the right direction?
     
  2. Curly

    Curly

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,249
    Realize that you are pinging from your router, but attempting to load websites from your computer. This is not conclusive that a problem does not exist on your computer, or between it and your router. Instead, ping from your computer.
     
  3. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,298
    Sounds like a DNS problem. Post the results of an ipconfig /all
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. windowserror

    windowserror Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Everything worked except for the "ping yahoo.com"

    Here are the results:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : BUSINESS
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : launchmodem.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-17-81-AC-51
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.102
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 71.15.32.8
    24.196.223.8
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, July 12, 2009 10:25:15 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 13, 2009 10:25:15 AM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 192.168.2.102

    Pinging 192.168.2.102 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.2.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.102:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 71.15.32.8

    Pinging 71.15.32.8 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 71.15.32.8: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=236
    Reply from 71.15.32.8: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=236
    Reply from 71.15.32.8: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=236
    Reply from 71.15.32.8: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=236

    Ping statistics for 71.15.32.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 51ms, Maximum = 52ms, Average = 51ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=74ms TTL=47
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=73ms TTL=47
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=74ms TTL=47
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=73ms TTL=47

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 73ms, Maximum = 74ms, Average = 73ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping www.yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host www.yahoo.com. Please check the name and try ag
    ain.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
     
  6. nfedei

    nfedei

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    It sounds like you might have had a small case of spyware or a virus that took hold of your DNS. Google for this utility and download it. It's a quick little utility to clean up your winsock. The part of the computer that controls the DNS. Check it out.
    The tool is called: winsockxpfix
    Can be found here: http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html
    I am also assuming that you are using XP by the looks of your posts.
    Hopefully this will help!
     
  7. windowserror

    windowserror Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Cool and groovy, that worked like a charm. Thanks.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/842450

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice