Solved: Can;t Boot Up After Using AVG

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tommiefromva

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
17
I can't boot up after using AVG to get rid of a virus. I start my computer and get this AVG Watch Dog which won't let me click on anything. On a closed thread it gave a link to click on to download to a CD or memory stick. I don't know how to download to a CD or a memory stick. I have tried and tried but was unsucceful. Can someone show me how to do this.
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,081
What is it asking you to download?
Did it remove a virus and then reboot your Pc?
You may still be infected.
Will your Pc start in safe mode - tap F8 as the Pc is starting up.
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,081

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,081
Ok - check this link it will show you how to burn a Cd - you will need the Avg rescue disk to 'Rename all files starting with avg'
Step 2 Burn the Image to a Disc
http://malwaretips.com/blogs/how-to-clean-an-infected-computer-with-kaspersky-rescue-disk/

You can download the rescue files to a USB stick.
http://aa-download.avg.com/filedir/inst/avg_arl_ffi_all_120_120823a5411.zip

How to download and create AVG Rescue CD | Video Tutorials | AVG Worldwide
http://www.avg.com/ww-en/tutorials.num-2816
 

tommiefromva

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
17
Well I finally figured out how to download the AVG Rescue CD. I put it the computer and it really doesn't do anything I still get the AVG watchdog page and won't let me do anything. I've been in the BIOS but don't know what to do there. I am going to download the Kaspersky rescue cd on Monday and see if I can understand what to do. Their instructions are easier for me to understand. I'll get back here on Monday and let you know how I am doing.
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,081
You may need to set the Bios to boot from the Cd.
In the Bios you use the arrow keys to move the Cd to the top of the list.
Save and Exit the Bios - pressing F10 will usually do this.
Make no other changes while in the Bios.

What is the make and model number of your Pc?
http://michaelstevenstech.com/bios_manufacturer.htm
-----
How to boot from a CD.
http://techpaul.wordpress.com/2007/08/03/how-to-boot-from-a-cd/
----
If you use the Kaspersky rescue cd - you will not be able to rename the Avg files and that is what is needed.
 

tommiefromva

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
17
Thank you ,thank you, thank you. Well I finally got it. It all started with a resolution problem and I was trying to download the newest version of Malwarebytes. All the instructions from AVG were all greek to me so I kept trying different things and finally got on I imediatly went to Add Or Remove Progams and removed AVG and then worked at getting Malwarebytes and ran it. Then I worked at the resolution problem. I couldn't move the slider to bchange the resolution and found it it could be the drivers. I went to Dell and downloaded all the drivers I needed. So now my 10 inch mimi is back to normal. Thank you so much Blues_Harp
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top