1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can;t Boot Up After Using AVG

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tommiefromva, Jan 31, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tommiefromva

    tommiefromva Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    I can't boot up after using AVG to get rid of a virus. I start my computer and get this AVG Watch Dog which won't let me click on anything. On a closed thread it gave a link to click on to download to a CD or memory stick. I don't know how to download to a CD or a memory stick. I have tried and tried but was unsucceful. Can someone show me how to do this.
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,632
    What is it asking you to download?
    Did it remove a virus and then reboot your Pc?
    You may still be infected.
    Will your Pc start in safe mode - tap F8 as the Pc is starting up.
     
  3. tommiefromva

    tommiefromva Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    I can't get into safe mode. I found this on this forum. http://forums.avg.com/ww-en/avg-forumssec=thread&act=show&id=68967.
    I am on another computer and trying to make the CD. It says to download to a CD or memory stick' I don't know how to burn CDs and was unsuccessful when I tried it. They explain what to do after you get the CD..
     
  4. tommiefromva

    tommiefromva Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
  5. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,632
  6. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,632
    Ok - check this link it will show you how to burn a Cd - you will need the Avg rescue disk to 'Rename all files starting with avg'
    Step 2 Burn the Image to a Disc
    http://malwaretips.com/blogs/how-to-clean-an-infected-computer-with-kaspersky-rescue-disk/

    You can download the rescue files to a USB stick.
    http://aa-download.avg.com/filedir/inst/avg_arl_ffi_all_120_120823a5411.zip

    How to download and create AVG Rescue CD | Video Tutorials | AVG Worldwide
    http://www.avg.com/ww-en/tutorials.num-2816
     
  7. tommiefromva

    tommiefromva Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Well I finally figured out how to download the AVG Rescue CD. I put it the computer and it really doesn't do anything I still get the AVG watchdog page and won't let me do anything. I've been in the BIOS but don't know what to do there. I am going to download the Kaspersky rescue cd on Monday and see if I can understand what to do. Their instructions are easier for me to understand. I'll get back here on Monday and let you know how I am doing.
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,632
    You may need to set the Bios to boot from the Cd.
    In the Bios you use the arrow keys to move the Cd to the top of the list.
    Save and Exit the Bios - pressing F10 will usually do this.
    Make no other changes while in the Bios.

    What is the make and model number of your Pc?
    http://michaelstevenstech.com/bios_manufacturer.htm
    -----
    How to boot from a CD.
    http://techpaul.wordpress.com/2007/08/03/how-to-boot-from-a-cd/
    ----
    If you use the Kaspersky rescue cd - you will not be able to rename the Avg files and that is what is needed.
     
  9. tommiefromva

    tommiefromva Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Thank you ,thank you, thank you. Well I finally got it. It all started with a resolution problem and I was trying to download the newest version of Malwarebytes. All the instructions from AVG were all greek to me so I kept trying different things and finally got on I imediatly went to Add Or Remove Progams and removed AVG and then worked at getting Malwarebytes and ran it. Then I worked at the resolution problem. I couldn't move the slider to bchange the resolution and found it it could be the drivers. I went to Dell and downloaded all the drivers I needed. So now my 10 inch mimi is back to normal. Thank you so much Blues_Harp
     
  10. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,632
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1087732

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice