1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can Win 7 Backup Utility Make Copy Drive BOOTABLE??

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by zapp22, Apr 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zapp22

zapp22 Thread Starter

Folks I'm new to Win7. I used the Windows 7 Backup utility to backup the entire primary drive to a new bigger drive [basically 'cloning', so I thought]. As I suspected, it put most of the files there, but its not bootable.
    Error "BOOTMGR Not Found"

So two questions:
    1. Do I need to use a third party utility? or can Windows 7 Utility make a bootable image?
    2. Can the current image on the backup drive be fixed/added-to/bootable??? or do I wipe out and start over.

?

2. zapp22

zapp22 Thread Starter

well, for anyone searching and coming across this, I'm assuming for now the answer is a big fat "NO".
    it makes a nice copy of a lot of data, but I can find no option, and no way, to make it bootable short of a lot of command line hacking. Using the Windows 7 RE to "Repair Startup Files" per knowledgebase at Microsoft does no good. Using "EasyBCD" to attempt to repair it did no good either, despite the "All Done!" message it returned on the execution.

3. zapp22

zapp22 Thread Starter

Looks like I got it.
    took a combination of steps.
    [this is why people buy Apple...]

4. TheOutcaste

TheOutcaste

The windows backup utility can not be used to clone a drive. You can backup a drive, then restore the backup, but can't directly clone to a new drive.

Click Start | Help and Support
    Search on Restore your computer from a system image backup

This lists three different methods to use.

5. Squashman

Squashman Trusted Advisor

:rolleyes: