Solved: Cannot access any shared files/folders

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kevhatch

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
265
Hi,
I have 2PC's and a Laptop that I am trying to set up as a home network:
PC1 XP Home as the main PC
PC2 XP Pro
L/TOP XP Pro
All are connected to a Mentor 4 port ethernet broadband router in turn connected to a cable modem.

I have run the home network setup wizard on all 3 using the "this computer connects to the internet through a residential gateway" setting.

I have no problems connecting to the internet on any of them.

On PC1 if I click on view workgroup computers, they all show up but I can't access PC2 or L/TOP files. I get the Message "............ is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions. The network path was not found."

On PC2 if I click on view workgroup computers, none of the computers show up and I get the message " Ms home is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions. The list of servers for this workgroup is not currently available."

On L/TOP if I click on view workgroup computers, they all show up but I can't access PC1 or PC2 files. I get the Message "............ is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions. The network path was not found."

Any help appreciated.
Thx
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
The basics for troubleshooting are:

1. Make sure you have the same IP scheme (e.g. 192.168.0.x).

2. Make sure you have the same Subnet Mask, Gateway, and DNS IP addresses.

3. Make sure you can ping the other computer's IP address. If this fails, just for testing, make sure you turn off XP's as well as any other firewall.

4. Make sure you can ping the other computers by name.

5. Make sure you have the same workgroup name (watch for trailing spaces)

6. For troubleshooting purposes, turn off XP's and completely uninstall any other firewall software. You can always add more complexity after you get it working.

7. With XP, make sure you have the same username and password as the person logging onto the other computers. The default setting for XP Pro is to require a password for network access.

8. More details about how to network XP can be found at:
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/xp_network.htm

9. More details about how to troubleshoot TCP/IP networks can be found at:
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/trouble.htm

10. Apply the registry edit to fix the browsing delay from XP to Win9x computers
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/windowsxp_tips.htm#browsing_delay.

There continues to be a lot of misinformation about needing NetBEUI or to changing the NetBIOS setting. You can ignore both. Installing NetBEUI to solve a networking problem will just mask a some underlying and potentially important misconfiguration with TCP/IP. The default NetBIOS setting usually works. If browsing is a problem, you might set it to Enabled. But do not Disable it.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,425
Almost definitely Bob Cerelli's famous #6! Your setup, assuming you did "enable file and printer sharing," should have properly configured XP's firewall IF you have Service Pack 2 installed. If you don't have SP2, follow his #6 exactly.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I'm concerned about the MS HOME message. Does anyone really allow the default Workgroup name?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,425
"Does anyone really allow the default Workgroup name?"

Certainly not me! I have no data, but my guess would be about 50% of people do. :-(
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I guess I would expect to see the same message on all of the machines then, perhaps not.....
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Regardless of the name of the workgroup, in this case MS HOME, you should still have access. Hopefully you are also using reasonable firewall protection, even if only a router.
 

kevhatch

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
265
Thx for the quick replies,
Yes I have the router firewall enabled, also PC1 and L/TOP are running ZoneAlarm (free version), PC2 just on XP's firewall (getting round to changing it!)


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\KEVIN>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PC1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 5:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-BF-10-66
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 06 January 2006 03:00:36
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 19 January 2038 03:14:07

C:\Documents and Settings\KEVIN>





Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Kev>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PC2
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-CB-C8-CF
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 07 January 2006 01:04:12
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 19 January 2038 03:14:07

C:\Documents and Settings\Kev>






Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Kev>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . :L/TOP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel 8255x-based PCI Ethernet Adapter (10/100)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-39-D0-B5-19
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 07 January 2006 01:17:25
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 19 January 2038 03:14:07

C:\Documents and Settings\Kev>


I can ping PC2 OK but I get request timed out on L/TOP, works with Z/A turned off.
Don't know if any of this helps.
Thx again
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
kevhatch said:
also PC1 and L/TOP are running ZoneAlarm (free version), PC2 just on XP's firewall
Especially if you are having problems with the ping test, you might also look at #6 from my previous post regarding firewalls.
 

kevhatch

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
265
Thx Guys, I got it working...can now access all files on all pcs. Simple as adding the ip addresses into Zone Alarm firewall trusted zone.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Good going. A lot of folks might have have problems with that one. One reason I put those ping test so early in the list. Helps point to that as a solution that much sooner. Actually have it in #3.

It looks like you are not only behind a router but also have a software firewall installed so are not that likely to be attacked. I mean who would waste all that time.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top