Solved: cannot communicate with primary DNA server- PLEASE HELP!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

greenthumb87

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
5
i've been getting this message when trying to fix my internet connection. i'm connected to the network, but unable to go on the internet. the following is my ipconfig/all results:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : CrackerJacks
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
nection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-BF-30-B3-F8
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f4cd:c839:8c45:de73%9(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : September-26-08 9:50:25 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : September-26-08 10:50:25 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8039 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-D3-FA-E7-CD
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.phub.net.cable.rogers.com
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{704FD937-485D-451D-9B6C-5E6F3A3F1
22B}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

i'm not the most technologically apt person, so a step by step help/instruction will be much appreciated.

thanks! i really need my other laptop as all my school work is there and i need the internet for most of them.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
67,132
Are you sure the error message says "DNA server" and not "DNS Server"?

Are you trying to connect through a wireless router that plugs into your broadband modem?
 

greenthumb87

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
5
yeah it's dns. it was a typo and i didnt know how to change the title. oops :)

and yes, i'm connected to the wireless router.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
67,132
Unless your router is configured to act as a DNS relay, you will need to change the DNS settings on the computer to use the IP address of the DNS server(s) given by your Internet Service Provider.

If you have a computer that can connect to the Internet OK through the router, you should be able to write down its DNS settings and use them on the computer with the problem.

Sorry, I don't have time to go into details at the moment.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Unless your router is configured to act as a DNS relay, you will need to change the DNS settings on the computer to use the IP address of the DNS server(s) given by your Internet Service Provider.
That's incorrect, the router's address is quite normal, and the default of almost any SOHO router is to indeed be a DNS relay. Since DHCP is passing back this DNS address, I'm going to guess that the router will indeed forward the requests.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
67,132
i just noticed that the ip addresses differ between my working laptop and the other one
Both computers should have the first three sets of numbers in the IP address (192.168.1. using your IPCONFIG data in the first post) being the same. It is the last number that uniquely identifies each connected device on the LAN.

Assuming your first is for the computer having the proble, can you post the IPCONFIG /All for the computer that has a working connection?


Since DHCP is passing back this DNS address,.
Just for my education, is there something in greenthumb87's IPCONFIG /ALL data that shows the given DNS address is coming from the DHCP server in the router? Isn't there a Windows Networking control panel that lets you set if a given computer should try to automatically get the DNS Server address or use user defined address(es)?

The PC I have at work uses DHCP to get its LAN IP address but I have it set to use manually entered DNS Server addresses. One of them is the Primary Server run by Comcast and the second one is a free access DNS service from a third party.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Just for my education, is there something in greenthumb87's IPCONFIG /ALL data that shows the given DNS address is coming from the DHCP server in the router? Isn't there a Windows Networking control panel that lets you set if a given computer should try to automatically get the DNS Server address or use user defined address(es)?
DHCP is enabled, and all of the addresses, Default Gateway, DHCP Server, and DNS Address are the same. This is almost always the way the information from a router would appear.

Note that a few routers DHCP server assigns the DNS Address from the WAN side, but most simply point to the router and forward it in the NAT layer.
 

greenthumb87

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
5
the problem resolved itself for reasons i'm not aware of. thanks so much for the help anyway. i really appreciate it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top