1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cannot communicate with Primary DNS server

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Godsmack, Jan 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Godsmack

    Godsmack Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Hi all,
    I have this issue lately that my internet will stop working, wireless and wired." cannot communicate with primary dns server" I run the windows repair option and i get another message saying a issue still remains. I have seen here on the forum that you guys have solved this issue for others and ive tried following those instructions given with no success. The only change recently was that i installed Kodi. Would this have anything to do with it?
    As in other posts, here is my config read out

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Richard>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Richard-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : net

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
    nection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-BF-19-C0-C0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-38-5F-35-59
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4d7:f488:a7fc:4067%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.15(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 07 January 2015 21:56:36
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 07 January 2015 22:57:35
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234887992
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-38-90-4B-00-1B-38-5F-35-59

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 89.101.160.5
    89.101.160.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.15%16(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 89.101.160.5
    89.101.160.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{36726A81-D033-4FC3-BB53-1C8A1D83B
    12E}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Richard>

    Please if you have any suggestions, do let me know. Ask if im missing some info you require to assess the issue.
     
  2. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    Where are you located? Ireland?

    First try flushing the DNS. In command prompt type: ipconfig /flushdns (press enter)

    If that does not work try using Google's Public DNS. The link below has instructions on how to change the DNS, although it refers to Windows 7 it's pretty much the same for Vista.
    https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using
     
  3. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,124
    First Name:
    Liz
    look over your router settings.
    You should be getting a 24 hour lease not a 1 hour lease.
     
  4. Godsmack

    Godsmack Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Hey, Sorry for the absence. I tried entering the dns flush command and got the following, "the requested operation requires elevation". I do not know what that means?

    Regarding the router settings, how do I access the settings and what should I change?

    Thanks again guys, this is a nuisance of a problem.

    Oh and yes, I am in Rep of Ireland.
     
  5. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    It means you need to logon as ADMINISTRATOR or use RunAS administrator and supply the password.
    Yes it IS different to being a normal user with admin privileges.
     
  6. Godsmack

    Godsmack Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    I've checked and there is only 1 account, which is mine and its the administrator account.
     
  7. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
     
  8. Godsmack

    Godsmack Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Right clicked on command prompt and run as administrator. Entered ipconfig/dsnflush and it worked.
    Thanks lads.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1140746

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice