1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cannot connect Laptops (running Vista) to Wireless Belkin 54g Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by laurandeclan, Aug 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. laurandeclan

laurandeclan Thread Starter

Hi there,

I've recently bought two new laptops, running Vista, and am having trouble wirelessly connecting them to my wireless network on my Belkin 54g Router. I can see the network I need to connect to, and the signal is 100% but when I try to connect it keeps saying disconnecting and something about WLAN :confused::mad:. Unfortunately, i'm not very technical. I just about managed to follow the Router's inital set up.

Not sure whether you need to know but when the Router was first set up I set up two passwords, a main password and a guest password.

Also not sure whether you need to know but the network will allow me to plug my LAN cable in and will let me connect no problem.

I have successfully connected my old PC to the desired network, wirelessly, with the use of the Belkin Wireless Adaptor.

I hope there is someone who can help me with my problem.

Thanks in advance :)

2. Wilsonjc

Wilsonjc

Do you have any security on the wireless (wpa/wep etc) or mac address filtering? Vista has issues with some versions of the protocols that security keys use. ( wpa version 1 off the top of my head)

Thanks

John

3. laurandeclan

When I set up the router i opted for the secure wireless option therefore setting up two passwords.

4. Wilsonjc

Wilsonjc

Sorry I should have been clearer,

What type of the encryption have you used? WPA WEP?? Vista hates WPA (not sure why)

Try changing to WEP or removing ( briefly) to see if you can connect.

Thanks

john

5. laurandeclan