1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cannot connect to access point

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sherem, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sherem

    sherem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Scenario...have desktop connected with dsl...have router installed. Laptop pc working fine, built in network card. Have additonal desktop pc, and have just installed the linksys G adapter. Following directions to a "T". Problem..in beginning did not recognize any available networks. Then it detected one, started to connect, then failed. When go to the config. page, says cannot connect to access point. I have compared settings on both other pcs. and find nothing out of order. Is there something I am missing? I actually had laptop directly next to desktop and was recieving signal. Any suggestions? Thank you
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Start, run, type cmd and hit enter, type ipconfig /all
    then hit enter.....right click to copy and come back and paste the info for both machines.
     
  3. sherem

    sherem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    am sorry, am working right now, do not have access. will post tomorrow....but thank you for you quick response...
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    You're welcome.

    We'll await your reply (y)
     
  5. sherem

    sherem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    well, I uninstalled, physically removed the network card, ran disc, reinstalled card, and it works........geesh. Did it correctly the first time......well, obviously didn't, but don't know what I did differently, followed the same instructions. It is 94 degrees here so maybe pc doesn't like the heat any more than I do........thank you anyway........
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/593830

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice