1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cannot connect to internet by ethernet cable or wirelessly

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by mjb0871, Jul 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mjb0871

    mjb0871 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Hi
    My girlfriends parents have bought a new compaq laptop with windows 7. Connected up to the internet by cable & wireless no problem.
    Yesterday couldn't do either and found it nearly impossible to get into the routers settings to check them. Kept saying limited access. I've tried various things to no avail.
    Then I noticed that my iphone could connect to the router, so I ruled out a router problem.
    I brought the laptop home and it wouldn't connect to our router, so I'm presuming it's a settings problem. But now I'm stuck!

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks
    Mark
     
  2. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,602
    Try this

    WinSock and TCP/IP Refresh.

    Open the Command Prompt as an Administrator.

    Type netsh winsock reset hit Enter.

    Do the same for refreshing the TCP/IP for both ipv4 and 6 and flush the dns

    netsh interface ipv4 reset hit Enter

    netsh interface ipv6 reset hit Enter

    ipconfig /flushdns hit Enter

    Restart your Computer.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Assuming there is/was a pre-installed security suite has it been uninstalled and the appropriate removal tool run or else the trial update subscription started? If not, you probably have a firewall issue.
     
  4. davehc

    davehc Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,059
    First Name:
    David
    Sorry if this is dumb, but have you switched on the network adapter? It is a button somewhere, usually on the back of a compaq, but could even be on the keyboard.
     
  5. mjb0871

    mjb0871 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Hi
    I've tried Lance's suggestion but still the same.
    I have also tried with the anti virus on & off and the same with the firewall.
    Dave, I thought about the switch and was the first thing I checked, but it doesn't connect through a cable either so not sure what to do next.

    Anymore suggestions will be gratefully received!

    Cheers
     
  6. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,602
    Check the device manager for any issues "Yellow Exclamation mark" by the Network adapter. Try uninstalling and reinstalling the network adapter, "restarting after each."
     
  7. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    May we see:
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  8. mjb0871

    mjb0871 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\JanetLes>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JanetLes-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 64-31-50-5C-19-B2
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8191SE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapte
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-65-9D-88-6D-A2
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::882a:8610:fb34:ac5%20(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 15 July 2011 18:17:59
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 18 July 2011 18:17:58
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 438068637
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-FC-01-CB-64-31-50-5C-19-B2

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Reusable Microsoft 6To4 Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{40532F5A-F17F-430D-B51B-1F8E8DAAC2CC}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\JanetLes>

    C:\Users\JanetLes>
     
  9. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    You appear to have a working wireless connection.
    May we see the results of the following pings.
    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 8.8.8.8

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  10. mjb0871

    mjb0871 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\JanetLes>ping 192.168.1.6

    Pinging 192.168.1.6 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.6:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\JanetLes>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\JanetLes>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\JanetLes>ping 8.8.8.8

    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\JanetLes>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\Users\JanetLes>
     
  11. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
  12. mjb0871

    mjb0871 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I disabled firewall & webroot, also did the dns server, but still the same.
    also....


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\JanetLes>tracert yahoo.com
    Unable to resolve target system name yahoo.com.

    C:\Users\JanetLes>

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\JanetLes>tracert yahoo.com
    Unable to resolve target system name yahoo.com.

    C:\Users\JanetLes>
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Is any computer able to get internet access through that router? If so, and if it is running Windows, may we see the ipconfig /all for it please.

    Login to the router and make sure there is no filtering to block internet access to your computer.
     
  14. mjb0871

    mjb0871 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Terry
    I have 3 laptops & 2 iphones in the house and all the others can get onto the internet.
    Cheers
     
  15. mjb0871

    mjb0871 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Also, the laptop in question is my girlfriends parents and cannot get onto the internet through their own router or ours.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1007003

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice