1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cannot connect to internet through Ethernet LAN. Please Help.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by madjack87, Apr 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. madjack87

    madjack87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    ipconfig /all results

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Stevie>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : BACK
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS 900 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-EA-36-14-5C
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.65
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 02, 2010 11:04:23 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, April 03, 2010 11:04:23 AM

    tracert www.google.com results

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Stevie>tracert www.google.com

    Tracing route to www.l.google.com [74.125.95.106]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms 1 ms home [192.168.1.254]
    2 44 ms 45 ms 41 ms adsl-69-215-143-254.dsl.milwwi.ameritech.net [69
    .215.143.254]
    3 42 ms 45 ms 45 ms dist2-vlan60.milwwi.ameritech.net [65.43.19.243]

    4 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms 151.164.190.132
    5 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms 151.164.99.129
    6 16 ms 15 ms 17 ms 72.14.218.53
    7 42 ms 41 ms 45 ms 209.85.254.130
    8 63 ms 57 ms 64 ms 72.14.232.141
    9 67 ms 64 ms 62 ms 209.85.241.37
    10 37 ms 37 ms 35 ms 72.14.239.193
    11 26 ms 25 ms 25 ms iw-in-f106.1e100.net [74.125.95.106]

    Trace complete.

    ping www.google.com results

    C:\Documents and Settings\Stevie>ping www.google.com

    Pinging www.l.google.com [74.125.95.105] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 74.125.95.105: bytes=32 time=65ms TTL=54
    Reply from 74.125.95.105: bytes=32 time=60ms TTL=54
    Reply from 74.125.95.105: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=54
    Reply from 74.125.95.105: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=54

    Ping statistics for 74.125.95.105:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 30ms, Maximum = 65ms, Average = 53ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Stevie>


    I am using a 2wire router/modem and I have another computer connected through Ethernet which is working. I compared all the settings and they are the same on both computers.

    Not sure where to go from here any help is appreciated.

    I also ran winsockxpfix already
     
  2. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,889
    Since you can ping, it may be a DNS problem, in tcp/ip properties set the DNS servers to

    208.67.220.220
    and
    208.67.222.222

    This is Open DNS servers, very safe to use.

    https://store.opendns.com/setup/device/windows-xp/


    IP addresses should be different.

    .

    .
     
  3. madjack87

    madjack87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Tried manually setting the DNS servers to what you recommended. And the IP addresses are different.

    Any other suggestions.

    Thanks for helping
     
  4. madjack87

    madjack87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Also I tested the cable on a different computer and it connected to the computer fine. The router is 2wire if that makes a difference.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,904
    First Name:
    Terry
    Your initial post shows that you have internet access and that DNS is working. What is the issue?
     
  6. madjack87

    madjack87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I cannot browse any webpages. Also status shows less than 100 total packets being received and less than 200 sent.

    I am just getting " Internet Explorer can not display..."
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,904
    First Name:
    Terry
    Could be a non-Windows firewall or security suite not trusting your browser. Could even be an anti-virus or other security application if it got corrupted or was uninstalled and did not go away cleanly. What security programs do, or did, you have on the machine?

    Check Control Panel - Internet Options - Connections tab - LAN settings - should be nothing checked, although "Automatically detect settings" is usually OK.

    Not sure if you did the correct repairs ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  8. madjack87

    madjack87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I have already completed the steps you have said once before.. But I decided to try again and still is not working.

    Also all the settings are unchecked as you said they should be.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,904
    First Name:
    Terry
    My last idea is to try an IE reset.
     
  10. madjack87

    madjack87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Since the internet was working last week I used system restore and vala back to working again..

    Thanks to all that helped.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,904
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914283

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice