Solved: Cannot connect to internet through Ethernet LAN. Please Help.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

madjack87

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
6
ipconfig /all results

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Stevie>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : BACK
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS 900 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-EA-36-14-5C
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.65
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 02, 2010 11:04:23 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, April 03, 2010 11:04:23 AM

tracert www.google.com results

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Stevie>tracert www.google.com

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [74.125.95.106]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms 1 ms home [192.168.1.254]
2 44 ms 45 ms 41 ms adsl-69-215-143-254.dsl.milwwi.ameritech.net [69
.215.143.254]
3 42 ms 45 ms 45 ms dist2-vlan60.milwwi.ameritech.net [65.43.19.243]

4 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms 151.164.190.132
5 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms 151.164.99.129
6 16 ms 15 ms 17 ms 72.14.218.53
7 42 ms 41 ms 45 ms 209.85.254.130
8 63 ms 57 ms 64 ms 72.14.232.141
9 67 ms 64 ms 62 ms 209.85.241.37
10 37 ms 37 ms 35 ms 72.14.239.193
11 26 ms 25 ms 25 ms iw-in-f106.1e100.net [74.125.95.106]

Trace complete.

ping www.google.com results

C:\Documents and Settings\Stevie>ping www.google.com

Pinging www.l.google.com [74.125.95.105] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 74.125.95.105: bytes=32 time=65ms TTL=54
Reply from 74.125.95.105: bytes=32 time=60ms TTL=54
Reply from 74.125.95.105: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=54
Reply from 74.125.95.105: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 74.125.95.105:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 30ms, Maximum = 65ms, Average = 53ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Stevie>


I am using a 2wire router/modem and I have another computer connected through Ethernet which is working. I compared all the settings and they are the same on both computers.

Not sure where to go from here any help is appreciated.

I also ran winsockxpfix already
 

madjack87

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
6
Tried manually setting the DNS servers to what you recommended. And the IP addresses are different.

Any other suggestions.

Thanks for helping
 

madjack87

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
6
Also I tested the cable on a different computer and it connected to the computer fine. The router is 2wire if that makes a difference.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
Your initial post shows that you have internet access and that DNS is working. What is the issue?
 

madjack87

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
6
I cannot browse any webpages. Also status shows less than 100 total packets being received and less than 200 sent.

I am just getting " Internet Explorer can not display..."
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
Could be a non-Windows firewall or security suite not trusting your browser. Could even be an anti-virus or other security application if it got corrupted or was uninstalled and did not go away cleanly. What security programs do, or did, you have on the machine?

Check Control Panel - Internet Options - Connections tab - LAN settings - should be nothing checked, although "Automatically detect settings" is usually OK.

Not sure if you did the correct repairs ...

(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

madjack87

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
6
I have already completed the steps you have said once before.. But I decided to try again and still is not working.

Also all the settings are unchecked as you said they should be.
 

madjack87

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
6
Since the internet was working last week I used system restore and vala back to working again..

Thanks to all that helped.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top