1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cannot connect to Internet

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Zher0kool, Apr 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zher0kool

    Zher0kool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    EDIT: Solved I plugged it into a different port in my router and it worked guess port was bad.


    Hey, I have windows pro sp3 and i recently installed this program: http://www.hideyouripaddress.net/ and everything was going good turned of my pc last night turned it on this morning i could not connect. I completely uninstalled the program did not fix anything. I did a system restore also did not work. I tryed winsock fixed i did ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew and many more. NO fix.

    I can ping websites such as google and my ip is 192.168.X.X I have no other options...and when somthing goes wrong and i run out of options I come here ;)
     
  2. Talkhard223

    Talkhard223

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    That's your local intranet IP address. Do you have proxy setting on in your browser? If I'm not mistaken, I think those programs run you through a proxy, may look in options -> connections and make sure proxy settings are clear
     
  3. How'dIdoThat

    How'dIdoThat

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    471
    First Name:
    RWF
  4. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Does this fail on both a wireless and wired connection?
    Are you hardwired directly into the modem or is there a router involved?
    Are other computers affected ?
    And then from the failing pc:

    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    you cannot connect but you can ping google?
    do you mean you cannot open web pages?
     
  6. Zher0kool

    Zher0kool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    OK i pinged a couple of address and google i would get a 25% packet loss and others i will get a 75% lose, and i checked an no proxy settings are configured on my browsers. I will check out those links. Also its a desktop i have no wireless adapter to plug in.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Cannot connect
  1. ImWolf
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    982
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916701

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice