1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: cannot connect to my belkin g wireless router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by vile56, Feb 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vile56

    vile56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    hi i wanted to use my laptop downstairs so i disconnected the cat5, set up the wireless network and was using the internet on wireless .
    when i went to the basement i found that my roku(netflix device) was no longer connected to my wirelessnetwork because of a password.
    so i went back to my laptop and tried to find the password and messed something up . the wireless network was defined as unidentified, so i deleted it and right now i am connected via cat 5 with my laptop being unable to connect to my wireless wich is 1 foot away help pls.


    sorry if this has been posted before and answered i tried a couple fix's but no avail
     
  2. vile56

    vile56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    i think i set it from private to non private or the other way around but ... not that tech savy
     
  3. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Disable encryption on the router.
    Any change ?
    If not,
    let's see this from the failing pc.
    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. vile56

    vile56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Rock Farm>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : RockFarm-PCII
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
    Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-64-53-27-43
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::bc1d:a882:75d2:395d%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 08, 2011 3:05:09 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, March 17, 2147 10:23:23 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251667812
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-2D-BF-B7-00-25-64-53-27-43

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:341f:3988:3f57:fdfd(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::341f:3988:3f57:fdfd%10(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Rock Farm>ping 192.168.2.2

    Pinging 192.168.2.2 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.2.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.2:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\Rock Farm>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\Rock Farm>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\Rock Farm>ping 74.125.45.100

    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=84ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=84ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=84ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=84ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 84ms, Maximum = 84ms, Average = 84ms

    C:\Users\Rock Farm>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [209.191.122.70] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=50
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=50
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=50
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 209.191.122.70:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 95ms, Maximum = 95ms, Average = 95ms

    C:\Users\Rock Farm>




    this is connected via the cat 5 i assume you want me to do this while not connected via cat 5 so i will unplug and try again



    also the encryption is disabled afaik as i could not find a disable encryption under my router settings( ip in adress bar ) and factory is disabled
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    theres no wireless adapter - have you switched off or disabled
    lets have a look at device manager and xirrus and see what xirrus finds


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. vile56

    vile56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    i changed something i am not sure if i turned the network adapter off if you are talking about a switch on the front of my laptop then no but ... xirrus is d/ling atm .
    will my being conected to the internet via a wired conection screw up any of this diagnostic stuff?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. vile56

    vile56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    xirrus

    creep is mine
     

    Attached Files:

  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    not at moment

    Well the wireless is in device manager

    I wonder why not in ipconfig /all

    lets do a tcp/ip reset
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    The please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Well your device manager seems to show a wireless adapter,but not in the ipconfig.
    We will want to see pings using the wireless(if there is one) connection.
    Xirrus results will be ok with the lan connected.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I wonder what

    Xirrus has found a wireless adapter ok

    you could try a restore to before you changed anything

    start>programs>accessories>system tools>system restore - choose a date before the problem
     
  11. vile56

    vile56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, OK!
    Reseting Global, OK!
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Reseting Unicast Address, OK!
    A reboot is required to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, OK!
    A reboot is required to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>




    restarting
     
  12. vile56

    vile56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    i was under network and sharring and i selected the wireless conection it asked me (i think ) i fi want public or private and i clicked one of them
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    should not make a difference and lose the wireless adapter - more around what you can share - so both should work

    check these service are running
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Services}
    post back the status - started/stopped and automatic/manual
    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

    Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
    Start > control panel > administrative tools > event Viewer

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what happens when you try and connect with xirrus - theres a connect/disconnet button - middle ish right hand side
     
  15. vile56

    vile56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    i am connected via the xirrus connect
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/979672

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice