1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cannot Create System Shell Notification Icon

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by txoldier, Jul 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. txoldier

    txoldier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Hi

    I have a problem with my computer.
    When I start my computer, I get an error message that reads:

    "Cannot Create Shell Notification System Icon"

    I don’t know what is it, I think that has something to do with the icons on the toolbar, in fact, when my computer starts with that message, quite icons in toolbar disappear. I tried to restore system and nothing happens, except that the all icons appear again, but when I restart the computer they disappear again.
    I have already pass all antivirus and all programs related to cleaning, everything¬Ö

    Someone knows how to solve this problem?

    Sorry for my English, thanks

    [FONT=&quot]Properties of my system :

    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 2.67Ghz, 4 Gb RAM, Windows XP Home Edition, SP 3[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]

    [/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]PD : some time ago I wrote a post in which I explained another mistake but in the end I did all I could but in the end not fix[/FONT][FONT=&quot]

    [/FONT]
    Sorry for my English again, thank you before hand
    [FONT=&quot]
    [/FONT]
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Do you have SP2 or SP3 installed?

    Are you missing any icons in the tray when you see this message?

    I solved this problem for a couple of programs by delaying their startup by a few seconds so that explorer (and my theming program) would be stable before the tray icon got added:

    Startup Delayer

    The tray icons caused a lot of problems in XP "Gold", but changes were made in their implementation in the SP's and most problems disappeared.
     
  3. txoldier

    txoldier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Hello

    I have installed Service Pack 3 (SP 3)

    When I starts my computer, I lose different icons, and other times I leaving some other emerging. It's change all the time. In fact, in one day, i had only two icons in toolbar, the "panda antivirus" and the icon it said "security center of windows"
    before the problem I had 10 or more icons

    Do you want that I test that program ?
     
  4. oshwyn5

    oshwyn5

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    730
    Fifth on a google search
    http://winhlp.com/node/16
    Systray icons missing
    Is a guide to troubleshooting this problem. Basically it is a sequencing or timing issue of something in your startup .
    My guess would be an issue involving the automatic updater for your antivirus . Basically it is not allowing something else to load when the call for its icon to the system tray is run because it has not finished its task and loaded that item.
     
  5. txoldier

    txoldier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Ok thanks, I will read it and I will try to fix it,

    When I test it I'm going to tell you
     
  6. txoldier

    txoldier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Ok

    I tried the first thing mentioned in the guide and when I log on the computer all the icons appear again, as i had at first !!! ;), but when I shut down or reboot the computer for example again, do not appear the icons

    So I think that the problem is not fixed

    But one thing is clear, when I run that file and I "log on" the computer all the icons appear again

    P.D : I thing that i haven't got the "Asus Probe" program, that mencion in the guide in second part

    Other ideas ?
    Thanks,
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Use an app like Startup Control Panel to disable your personal startups one at a time to see if you can determine which one causes the problem. You could then use the delayer to start that program after the others are running.
     
  8. txoldier

    txoldier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    First, [​IMG] Elvandil and [​IMG] oshwyn5 thanks for the answers

    I solve the problem. But with one way that solves all problems, formatting.
    I formatted the computer and everything things that has and, of course, now the computer is working very well. I've also had problems with the blue screen of death and other problems with Windows Installer, so I decided to reformat and start over.

    Until then, and thanks again (y)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/733490