1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cannot find driver for Ethernet Controller

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Adam42Almighty, Aug 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Adam42Almighty

    Adam42Almighty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    For all the years i have had my computer, i have never been able to find the driver for the Ethernet controller. Recently i decided i wanted to start using Ethernet to connect to the internet instead of Wifi. But due to the missing ethernet controller i cannot do it. My ethernet port is built in so i went to the Shuttle PC website but for some reaosn my computer model (SB75V10) doesnt exist anywhere on the website. This means its almost impossible for me to find the driver for it. I'm hoping someone on this website knows a way to find the driver because i want to use 40mb ethernet not 4mb wifi :(
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    How to identify hardware in Device Manager

    i assume the network adapter in device manager is just showing a yellow sign with ! or ?
    right click on the device with a yellow!

    if not post a screen shot of the device manager - see how at bottom of post Device Manager


    from the menu choose
    properties
    Click on the Details Tab
    Under the Property - drop down
    Select hardware ids
    Right click and select all
    Then right click again and select copy
    Copy and paste that information here

    You should see a code similar to this

    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

    please reply with the full code for your device(s)

    The portion of the code highlighted in RED is the Vendor ID and the portion highlighted in GREEN is the Device ID. In this example:

    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

    Vendor ID = 8086
    Device ID = 008A

    Post back those two numbers make sure we know which is vendor ID and which is device ID

    These codes can be looked up at this site http://www.pcidatabase.com/

    As an example the link for that database tells us that;
    Vendor ID code 8086 is for this vendor - Intel Corporation
    Device ID code 008A is for this device - Intel Centrino Wireless-N1030
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if this does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb
    In the Start Search box type
    device manager and then press enter

    -------------------

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager


    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Adam42Almighty

    Adam42Almighty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    It is showing the yellow ? icon with a little ! over it. I went into the properties and the hardwares ID's are:

    PCI\VEN_173B&DEV_03ED&SUBSYS_03ED173B&REV_00
    PCI\VEN_173B&DEV_03ED&SUBSYS_03ED173B
    PCI\VEN_173B&DEV_03ED&CC_020000
    PCI\VEN_173B&DEV_03ED&CC_0200

    and from what you said the Vendor ID: 173B
    and the device ID is: 03ED
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so the vendor is Altima Communications Inc. which is now Broadcom
    and the device is not found

    is this LAN integrated into the motherboard

    lets try looking for the motherboard info

    download www.belarc.com and install - then post the details of the motherboard - Main Board and if listed the LAN
    DONT post the full info - as that has keys
     
  5. Adam42Almighty

    Adam42Almighty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Main circuit board:
    Board: Shuttle Inc FB75V10
    Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
    BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG 03/17/2005
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i have found an archive for 2004 and 2010 devices
    http://download.shuttle.eu/Archive_2004/Drivers/
    http://download.shuttle.eu/Archive_2010/

    but cannot find anything
    may be worth contacting support
    http://www.shuttle.eu/support/custo...207%200%200%870%200%2067%200%200%870%200%2065

    or try a USB > LAN connector - not a recommendation just an example
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/USB-Ethernet-network-adapter-RJ45/dp/B000J0H6YY

    Wireless should work higher than 4mb - but that may depend on signal quality
    who is your ISP ?

    whats the make and exact model of the router
    can we see an xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/ or
    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1067209

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice