1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cannot install my new intellimouse

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by catchme, May 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. catchme

    catchme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks in advance for any help! My logitech corded laser mouse has bad contact points, so I got a corded Microsoft Intellimouse to replace it. The problem is that when I try to install the drivers, it fully removes the logitech mouse, leaving me without a mouse at all. If I don't let it remove the logitech mouse, it won't install the drivers-catch 22. After that, it would not let me reinstall any mouse at all and I had to use system restore. The very first screen on the microsoft drivers is the agreement and I cannot mark that I agree if I don't have a mouse. If I could find a way to mark that, I'm sure I could use arrows, tabs and enter to complete setup, but tab just defaults to cancel setup and enter does not work because it won't fully highlight. The intellimouse isn't found by the computer after turning off and plugging it in either-tried that. I thought that, since my operating system (XP) is made by microsoft, the drivers might already be in there. No such luck. The instructions say the drivers must be installed first and I would like to do that, but I am stopped every time. I have tried reinstalling my dinosaur roller ball mouse that came with my system and it won't do that either.
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Do you have all Windows updates....and SP1 ,SP2,SP3?
     
  3. catchme

    catchme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Yes, I have SP3 with all updates.
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    I would say something isn't correct as plugging in most any mouse should find a driver that would work......is you roller ball one PS/2 connection?
     
  5. catchme

    catchme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    yes, it has the round end and plugs into the mouse port at the top where I used an adaptor to plug in the laser mouse. I thought about going into device manager and disabling the logitech mouse to see if it would then allow the roller ball mouse. The conflict is with the 2 laser mice. That's the message I receive when I try to install the drivers and then it asks if I want to completely uninstall the conflicting mouse. If I do that, I don't have any mouse. If I say no, it won't let me install. Thanks for helping an old lady!
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    OK.....so why don't you use a USB port for the laser mouse........if you have problems you should be able to plug the old ball mouse in the round PS/2 connector and restart the PC and it should pick it up on startup
     
  7. catchme

    catchme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Ok, thanks, first I went into device manager and disabled the logitech mouse. Then I was able to get windows to recognize the roller ball. I tried installing the driver software again and got the same message except that it couldn't uninstall the logitech software because something was now missing. I will have to go to Logitech for a complete uninstall tool. In the meantime, I took a chance and turned off my computer and plugged in the intellimouse and it worked. I will still have a conflict until I completely remove the Logitech program, but at least it is working for now. I really appreciate all your help. You've been awesome!
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Glad you working........
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/921410

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice