1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cannot Open Volume For Direct Access

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by muhsein0174, Feb 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. muhsein0174

    muhsein0174 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    My problem is I cant open the E: drive. On My Computer window, it did display the drive but I cant do anything. Windows prompt me to format the disk which I already did but I got this popup "cannot open volume for direct access".

    These are the solutions that I tried but failed:-

    • Use TestDisk but it doesnt even detect the drive.
    • Disk Management also didnt detect the drive.
    • Already used Command Prompt to repair the disk. It display this "Cannot open volume for direct access" which I run it as admin.

    Here I provide some screenshots for reference.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    You haven't said what the E: drive actually is suppose to be. Is it media card, a USB thumb drive, a USB hard drive, a USB security device? Has it ever worked?
     
  3. muhsein0174

    muhsein0174 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    its a pendrive.. yes it worked before this.. =)
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    It's likely broken, but have you tried it on another computer?

    Try using the HP USB Format utility to reformat it: http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=197

    Or see if the specific manufacturer of your device has their own utility to test or format it.
     
  5. muhsein0174

    muhsein0174 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    yes already tried it on other computer..
    lets try your solution..
    i will reply asap.. =)
     
  6. muhsein0174

    muhsein0174 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    seems that the solution u gave me doesnt work..
    maybe its broken..
    thx anyway.. =)
     
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,083
    First Name:
    Allan
    Is it shown in the Bios ?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1089067

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice