Solved: Cannot play sounds

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Zeromus

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
94
It's wierd,I can play music in Itunes but I can't hear sounds from anything else! I opened sound properties everythings like grayed out! And when I try to play windows sounds it says that it can't play the sound and my video may be in use. I tried starting the service but it wan't work!
Here's what I see:
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
51
Have you tried looking at your Device Manager to make sure nothing is wrong with your audio driver?
 

Zeromus

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
94
Yes I have, I did everything. I completly uninstalled then reistalled the audio drivers. And I even downloaded an installed the dell audio drivers but I still can't get windows to fully detect it.
 

Zeromus

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
94
Well, to give more detail, one time my computer was running slowly and I decided to close some programs in the task manager and I accidentally ended a service host. My sound was all normal b4 I ended that service. It seems I might have done something totally stupid.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
33
Try rebooting. If that doesn't work, try doing a system restore point before you ended the service host.
 

Zeromus

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
94
Wwaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!! Oh noOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!
I have no restore points! CRAP CRAP CRAP CRAP!!!
I'm totally screwed aren't I?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
33
Try removing it from the control panel in add/remove programs and rebooting? I'm just trying to come up with ideas here.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
51
How do you have no restore points? It should automatically set them...how old is your computer? Is it convenient enough to reformat and start from scratch? That would almost definitely solve the problem.
 

Zeromus

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
94

Well I put the slider bar in the restore point properties to 200mb. Some should appear, but thats not problem, the problem is my sound!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top