1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cannot see wireless router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by schmuck281, Dec 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. schmuck281

    schmuck281 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    I have a computer that was connecting with my wireless router but suddenly cannot see it.

    It is a MSI 875P neo running a P4 on XP pro with !G memory

    The router is a Linksys WRT42G

    My other computers see the router just fine and can connect with the Internet with no problem. But when I try to connect this one the detection window is greyed out. I have switched the wireless adapter card to another system and it works just fine there.

    In Systems it shows that the adapter is working fine and has the correct driver installed. I have reinstalled it a couple of times just to make sure.

    The only error I see under systems is for the "PCI Simple Communications Controller" but that was like that before and never cause any problems.

    The computer belongs to a friend who says that a visitor used it last and it would not work after that. I suspect that he fiddled the settings somewhere but can't find it.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Let's start with the basics and work from there.


    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.




    I'd like to see this after the reboot.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. schmuck281

    schmuck281 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    OK, I did all that and this is what I've got now. It doesn't look too different that what I saw before.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : wat-1buddhaoreg
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Network Bridge (Network Bridge) 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : MAC Bridge Miniport
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-80-BD-C9-14-1D

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-G PCI Network Adapt
    er with SpeedBooster
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-F8-2F-06-20

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 CT Network Connect
    ion
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-76-51-78-D8

    C:\>
     
  4. schmuck281

    schmuck281 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Just for grins, here's the info on the computer

    OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    Version 5.1.2600 Build 2600
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Name WAT-1BUDDHAOREG
    System Manufacturer MICRO-STAR INC.
    System Model MS-6758
    System Type X86-based PC
    Processor x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9 GenuineIntel ~2636 Mhz
    Processor x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9 GenuineIntel ~2636 Mhz
    BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. V1.6, 24/6/2546
    SMBIOS Version 2.3
    Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
    System Directory C:\WINDOWS\System32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    Locale Thailand
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.0 (xpclient.010817-1148)"
    User Name WAT-1BUDDHAOREG\Wat Thai
    Time Zone Pacific Standard Time
    Total Physical Memory 1,024.00 MB
    Available Physical Memory 656.49 MB
    Total Virtual Memory 3.40 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 2.81 GB
    Page File Space 2.40 GB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    The wireless adapter works in another PC but does not even detect the router's signal in the problem PC, right? When I saw "Locale Thailand" I got to thinking that maybe the wireless driver that is installed in the problem PC is not the one for the United States (or North America). If, for example, the installed driver is for a region that uses channels 9-13 and the router is using channel 6, the signal would not be seen.

    Obviously you can disprove this idea pretty quickly by trying some different channels on the router.
     
  6. schmuck281

    schmuck281 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    That's been set up like that since he got the computer. It is set to Thailand because he uses Thai fonts, currency etc. It has had no effect on detecting the router before, I doubt that it is now. The friend that owns the computer is a Thai Buddhist monk at Wat Buddha Oregon outside Salem. He uses both Thai and English languages. All the other computers at the temple are set up the same but have no problem. A notebook computer that is sitting next to this one detects the wireless network just fine.

    It's not just that it can't see the router, it can't even see the wireless adapter. It acts like there's nothing there. In fact, right now, it can't see any of the network cards. wireless or not. That's something that started after I posted the original question.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    "... it can't even see the wireless adapter."

    That's quite different! May I retract my previous post? :)

    Are you saying that Device Manager shows nothing under 'Network Adapters'? Are there any unknown devices? Any warnings about missing drivers?

    Check in the BIOS to see if the network adapters are enabled.
     
  8. schmuck281

    schmuck281 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Disregard that, I went back and looked again. All the network adapters are there. The status on the wireless adapter is "wireless connection unavailable". The Device Manager shows all the network adapters to be present and working.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    In Device Manager? Or where/what says that?

    Does the wireless connection show in Network Connections as 'enabled'?
     
  10. schmuck281

    schmuck281 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    It says that under network connections. The icon for the wireless connection is there and the status is "wireless connection unavailable".

    Under device manager the wireless adapter shows enabled.
     
  11. schmuck281

    schmuck281 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    I haven't got any action on this for a couple of days so I'm trying again.

    I cannot connect to my wireless network. The wireless PCI card worked when it was swapped to another machine. The correct drivers are installed and the router is working fine with several other computers with the same type setup.

    I am attaching screengrabs of my network connection wireless icon, the wireless adapter status and my device manager. Hopefully this will clarify what I'm talking about. I don't seem to have done too good a job before.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Rabbity

    Rabbity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    91
    does the computer pick up any wireless connections?
    you could try to setup a new wireless connection and re enter the ssid and wep or wpa key.
     
  13. schmuck281

    schmuck281 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    No, it doesn't pick up any wireless connection. It doesn't at the temple and it doesn't since I took it home with me. I removed all the security to make sure that it wasn't causing the problem. As I said, the other computers detect the wireless network just fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Rabbity

    Rabbity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    91
    go to control pannel, click on administrative tools, click on services, scroll down to the 3rd last service, it should be wireless zero, right click and select START.
     
  15. schmuck281

    schmuck281 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    That did it!

    That SOB did fiddle it.

    Thank you very much. I had looked at the services but not knowing much about them, hesitated to fiddle with them.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/666666