1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: cannot talk to other computers in network after reboot

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kanaitpro, Dec 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kanaitpro

    kanaitpro Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    493
    i have a network of four computers running windows 7, 3 workstations and one acting as a server for quickbooks pos v 11. they run fine most of the time, but every time i reboot the server machine, the others cannot connect to it. i have to drive over there and reboot again and try to fix the connectivity. all i do is reboot one more time, always works. i wonder if there is something i am missing.

    they are on a vlan on a cisco 2950 switch. and the server has a static ip address, it is still correct. the host files of the other machines still allow the connection as does windows firewall. i can get internet from every machine, but cannot ping anything from the server. the other machines can all ping each other, but not the server.

    also, the internet comes into the switch from a cable modem to a dlink router. it goes out to a wireless router as well, it is an unsecured wifi for the customers.

    this is driving me insane. any ideas? thanx.
     
  2. kanaitpro

    kanaitpro Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    493
    i just realized i posted in the wrong forum, needs to go to the networking section. can someone help with this?
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Moved your thread from Windows 7 to Networking. For future reference, you can click on "Report" and request your thread be moved instead of just hoping that a moderator will happen along and read your post. :)

    After any networking change (which includes a computer rebooting, as it leaves and then rejoins the network) it can be up to twenty minutes or so before all devices get the up-to-date information on names. If you are pinging/accessing by name are you sure that you are not running into this delay?
     
  4. kanaitpro

    kanaitpro Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    493
    yes, very. the situation today was that the computer was in a public network with file sharing turned off. the thing is, they were using the machine yesterday, it is the quickbooks server. they rebooted for another issue and it caused this one. i am not sure how it would just randomly change from private to public network, but it did.

    thanx for the info about the report button.
     
  5. kanaitpro

    kanaitpro Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    493
    i have solved my own problem, sometimes it just takes a while. it turns out that there is a hotfix for windows systems that randomly change the network to public. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2524478
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Good to know. Thanks.
     
  7. kanaitpro

    kanaitpro Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    493
    one caveat: it didn't work, sort of. i went to the page, they made me enter an email address so they could email a link to download the hotfix. there were two of them, and they said x86 in the file name, but i thought it may be for 32 and 64 bit. i took them over to the server and tried to install them but it said not for your type of system. i am sure this is the solution, but have to find out how to get the correct type of hotfix.

    edit to add: just found out that if you go to the link on the page that says download update now, it gives you the 64 bit version. be careful
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1116045

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice