1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't access a specific site

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by shadow_wave, Oct 14, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shadow_wave

    shadow_wave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Flash and Java are updated. Netindex works fine, pingtest doesn't and gives the same message as speedtest.net
     
  2. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    With Internet Explorer not open try the following:
    Press the Windows key + r.
    Next to the open field type: iexplore -extoff press enter
    Now try speedtest.net
     
  3. shadow_wave

    shadow_wave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    This still gave the same error message, but I don't think it would be extensions as it's the same in all browsers.
     
  4. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    The only other thing for the browsers is to try disabling “Use hardware acceleration when available” in settings.

    If that is a no go, I would boot the system into safemode with networking options and see if you can access the site. If you can then we have a 3rd party application causing conflicts.

    Do you have other devices that use your internet connection that can access speedtest?
     
  5. shadow_wave

    shadow_wave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Disabled hardware acceleration but still got the same message.
    When trying safe mode I still get the same errors in each browser.

    All of the other devices on the network can access the sites, this includes a windows 7 desktop, another laptop of the same make and model and some phones.
     
  6. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    Can you open an elevated command prompt and run the following command.

    ipconfig /all > 0 & notepad 0

    Notepad should open, just copy and paste the information into this thread.
     
  7. shadow_wave

    shadow_wave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Danny-Laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 40-61-86-AD-9F-6E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8191SE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-4B-D6-EA-D3-F1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::59ad:d44e:4fad:1519%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 21 October 2014 15:05:51
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 22 October 2014 15:05:50
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 186403798
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-08-53-5D-1C-4B-D6-EA-D3-F1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{0FE19468-FB5E-4EB7-AC9C-018546271272}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{DB701157-BCC6-4BF3-AE6E-4F1757E14574}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Teredo Tunneling Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:90d7:30d4:1c1f:c1e1:cf1a(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::30d4:1c1f:c1e1:cf1a%10(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  8. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    One more from Command Prompt, can you run the following and post.

    netsh interface ipv6 show prefixpolicies > 0 & notepad 0
     
  9. shadow_wave

    shadow_wave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Querying active state...

    Precedence Label Prefix
    ---------- ----- --------------------------------
    50 0 ::1/128
    40 1 ::/0
    30 2 2002::/16
    20 3 ::/96
    10 4 ::ffff:0:0/96
    5 5 2001::/32
     
  10. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    By chance are you experiencing slower internet speeds vs other devices on the network?
     
  11. shadow_wave

    shadow_wave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    I am, but the laptop is always further from the router than anything else so it's hard to tell. It has been slower lately though, and seems to randomly slow down.
     
  12. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    Give this a try to see if it helps any.
    Click Start, in the search field type: ncpa.cpl press enter.
    Press the Alt key and click on Advanced then Advanced Settings
    Under Connections highlight Wi-Fi.
    With Wi-fi highlighted in the Connection area, look at the Bindings. Under Client for Microsoft Networks make sure that Ipv4 is above Ipv6 (click on Ipv4 and use the arrows on the right to change order if needed). ← Let me know if you had to change this.
    If you did make a change, restart the computer/
     
  13. shadow_wave

    shadow_wave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Had a look, but they were already in that order.
     
  14. mimimin

    mimimin

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    By any chance does this problem appear with other sites? I'm having a strange issue as well, where certain sites don't load correctly on one computer with any Wi-Fi connection, and nothing seems to fix the problem. Perhaps mine is a bit different; I occasionally get error messages but usually the page starts to load, then stops at a random point; Skype and online games work flawlessly though. Regardless, I'll follow along and hopefully we can both get our issues resolved :)
     
  15. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    Try the following from the elevated command prompt, press enter after each command.


    netsh winsock reset catalog


    netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log


    netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log


    Reboot the computer.


    If still having problems try running the following tool from Microsoft.
    http://support2.microsoft.com/kb/929852
    Choose Perfer Ipv4 over Ipv6 (Microsoft Fix it 50410)
    Note: This only works on Vista/Windows 7
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1135416

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice