1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't access certain webpage!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by DeweyMec, Jan 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DeweyMec

    DeweyMec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hello,

    I am having trouble accessing the webpage related to my university (www.uniandes.edu.co) while connected through my router (Belkin Wireless G router F5D7230-49). I was able to access it without problem for the last four years, but recently I can't access it. If I plug in the PC directly to the cable modem, I can access the site. I can also access the website through a proxy server.





    Reading a related post on the forum I executed “TRACERT www.uniandes.edu.co” with the following results (I translated the Spanish text to English as comentary):


    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Microsoft Windows XP [Versión 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\usuario>TRACERT www.uniandes.edu.co

    Traza a la dirección pivijay.uniandes.edu.co [157.253.50.196] //Trace route to pivijay.uniandes.edu.co
    sobre un máximo de 30 saltos: //30 jumps maximum

    1 18 ms 17 ms 22 ms Dynamic-IP-190159401.cable.net.co [190.159.40.1]

    2 10 ms 12 ms 12 ms 172.31.250.65
    3 11 ms 12 ms 12 ms 172.31.110.1
    4 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms 200.26.157.133
    5 13 ms 12 ms 12 ms etb2-nap.ccit.org.co [206.223.124.192]
    6 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms corporat200-7551185.sta.etb.net.co [200.75.51.185]
    7 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.//Time Out
    8 19 ms 15 ms 14 ms corporat190-025240161.sta.etb.net.co [190.25.240.161]
    9 13 ms 16 ms 14 ms 157.253.99.56
    10 20 ms 15 ms 12 ms 157.253.91.6
    11 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud. //Time Out
    12 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud. //Time Out
    13 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud. //Time Out
    14 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms pivijay.uniandes.edu.co [157.253.50.196]

    Traza completa. //Trace Complete

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Thank you very much for your time, help and patience. Your help is greatly appreciated :)
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an ipconfig /all when connected to router and again when connected to the modem

    it may be a DNS issue
     
  3. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  4. DeweyMec

    DeweyMec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4


    Here is Ipconfig/all with router:

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Microsoft Windows XP [Versión 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\usuario>ipconfig/all

    Configuración IP de Windows

    Nombre del host . . . . . . . . . : DEATHPARADOX
    Sufijo DNS principal . . . . . . :
    Tipo de nodo . . . . . . . . . . : desconocido
    Enrutamiento habilitado. . . . . .: No
    Proxy WINS habilitado. . . . . : No
    Lista de búsqueda de sufijo DNS: Hepheastus

    Adaptador Ethernet Conexión de área local :

    Sufijo de conexión específica DNS : Hepheastus
    Descripción. . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168D(P)/8111D(P) PCI-E G
    igabit Ethernet NIC
    Dirección física. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-C0-C2-C9-70
    DHCP habilitado. . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguración habilitada. . . : Sí
    Dirección IP. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
    Máscara de subred . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Puerta de enlace predeterminada : 192.168.2.1
    Servidor DHCP . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    Servidores DNS . . . . . . . . . .: 192.168.2.1
    190.157.2.140
    200.118.2.91
    200.118.2.18
    Concesión obtenida . . . . . . . : Miércoles, 19 de Enero de 2011 12:42
    :29 p.m.
    Concesión expira . . . . . . . . .: Lunes, 18 de Enero de 2038 10:14:07
    p.m.

    C:\Documents and Settings\usuario>
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Here is IPCONFIG with MODEM:
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Microsoft Windows XP [Versión 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\usuario>ipconfig/all

    Configuración IP de Windows

    Nombre del host . . . . . . . . . : DEATHPARADOX
    Sufijo DNS principal . . . . . . :
    Tipo de nodo . . . . . . . . . . : desconocido
    Enrutamiento habilitado. . . . . .: No
    Proxy WINS habilitado. . . . . : No
    Lista de búsqueda de sufijo DNS: cable.net.co

    Adaptador Ethernet Conexión de área local :

    Sufijo de conexión específica DNS : cable.net.co
    Descripción. . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168D(P)/8111D(P) PCI-E G
    igabit Ethernet NIC
    Dirección física. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-C0-C2-C9-70
    DHCP habilitado. . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguración habilitada. . . : Sí
    Dirección IP. . . . . . . . . . . : 190.159.41.197
    Máscara de subred . . . . . . . . : 255.255.254.0
    Puerta de enlace predeterminada : 190.159.40.1
    Servidor DHCP . . . . . . . . . . : 172.31.12.17
    Servidores DNS . . . . . . . . . .: 190.157.2.140
    200.118.2.91
    200.118.2.18
    Concesión obtenida . . . . . . . : Miércoles, 19 de Enero de 2011 02:42
    :29 p.m.
    Concesión expira . . . . . . . . .: Jueves, 20 de Enero de 2011 06:05:53
    a.m.

    C:\Documents and Settings\usuario>
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Thank you for your help!
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it might be worth adding these two DNS server IP into the router configuration page - google open DNS
    8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4

    It may make a difference

    Although I don't see that as the issue as 192.168.2.1 - should work as the first entry
    Two of the DNS servers did not return results - but that my be because they are behind the system
     
  6. DeweyMec

    DeweyMec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4

    I follow the instructions on the page you provided but I cant telnet my router :( It says that it could not connect on port 23 of the host.
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    I'm not familiar with the router's settings but can you get into the router and find the block list?

    Or, you can try Hotspot Shield as a temporary solution.
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  9. DeweyMec

    DeweyMec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks to Phantom010 and etaf for their help and support!


    I spoke with Belkin support on chat and a complete reset of the router solved the problem, but I think that the problem was the one stated by Phantom 010 about Belkin's block list on the webpage. Here's what did the trick:


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Please follow the steps given below to update the firmware and configure the router:

    I recommend that you update the firmware from a computer that is connected to the router with an ethernet cable.

    Please download only the relevant firmware on the router from the link given below. The firmware file would be according to the router version:


    [​IMG] http://www.belkin.com/uk/support/article/?lid=enu&aid=6094


    and save it to the computer.

    - To update the firmware, log on to the router's web interface by typing in [​IMG] http://192.168.2.1 in the address bar of the browser. The computer should be
    connected to the router with an ethernet cable.
    Note: If you have changed your Router’s IP address, use that IP address.
    - By default, the password is blank. Click the "Submit" button.
    - Click on "Firmware Upgrade" under the option "Utilities".
    - Click on “Browse” and select the bin file that you have downloaded.
    - Click on “update” and follow the wizard.
    - After updating the firmware, restore the router to factory defaults by clicking on "Restore Factory Defaults" under "Utilities".
    - Reconfigure the router.

    Please follow the steps given below for configuring the router:

    - Connect the computer to the "LAN/Wired" port on the router and connect the modem to the "Internet/WAN/modem" port, using Ethernet cables.
    - Take a paper clip, insert the paper clip in the reset hole of the router and hold it for 15 seconds.
    - The power light will flash and then come back "ON" solid, indicating that the router is being restored to factory defaults.
    - The corresponding lights on the front of the router should be lit up.
    - Log on to the router web interface by typing in [​IMG] http://192.168.2.1, in the address bar of your browser.
    - By default, the password is blank.
    - Click on "Connection Type" in the left hand column under "Internet WAN" heading.

    If the connection type is Dynamic (cable):

    - Choose "Dynamic" and then click on "Next".
    - Type in your “Host Name”, if your Internet Service Provider has provided it. Else, leave it blank.
    - Click on "Change WAN MAC Address".
    - Click on the button "Clone".
    - Click on "Apply Changes".
    Internet Status should show "Connected" on the top right hand corner of the web page.

    If not please unplug the power cable from the router and unplug the power from the modem, leave these both units unplugged for 1 minute. Plug the power to the modem first and wait for the modem to get ready, then plug the power to the router.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Thanks for the feedback. (y)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975645

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice