Solved: can't access home pc from work

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

FESTO KGB

Thread Starter
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
22
Forgive me if this has already been addressed. I searched to no avail

Work PC is XP Pro on a SBS domain. Home PC is Win2K Pro on a workgroup.
I cannot connect to my home PC from work.
I have forwarded Ports 3389, 80 and 443 to my home PC private IP. My router/gateway is a netgear CG814WG. I am using Comcast Cable as my ISP.
I have enabled incoming connections on the Win2k machine. I have a dynamic IP but I record the actual public IP everyday. I even created a dyndns.org host name to point to my home IP address. Nothing seems to work. I am not running any firewall other than the router's firewall.
I have tried using Remote Desktop Connection from my work PC but nothing seems to work. I can remotely connect to my work PC from home but not the other way around. I know I am missing a step. Please help. :confused:

Thanks,

Odell
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Can you ping your home IP address? How exactly are you trying to "connect", with what application or service?
 

FESTO KGB

Thread Starter
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
22
yes, I can ping the home pc public IP address. I am trying to connect via Remote Desktop Connection
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Could there be a firewall issue? Have you disabled all the software firewalls to see if that gets you connected?
 

FESTO KGB

Thread Starter
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
22
JohnWill said:
Could there be a firewall issue? Have you disabled all the software firewalls to see if that gets you connected?

I am not running any firewall other than what is native on the router/gateway. I am running Kaspersky Antivirus but I am not aware of any firewall-like activity of that program.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
Are you sure your connection at work isn't using a firewall at a server level that you may not have access to?
 

FESTO KGB

Thread Starter
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
22
DoubleHelix said:
Are you sure your connection at work isn't using a firewall at a server level that you may not have access to?
I am reasonably sure that is not the case. Since I can access my work desktop from home as well as the server at work, one would assume that there is nothing on the work end that would be preventing me from connecting at home. I can also remote from work other locations.

I am sure there is something I am missing on my home setup but I am not sure what it is.

Perhaps someone can walk me through how to set up a Win2k Pro system to accept incoming connections. I have forwarded the ports on my router and I can ping its public IP so I am thinking that it must be something on the PC itself.

Either I have a real stumper or I am such a noob that people are considering this a hopeless case:confused:
 

FESTO KGB

Thread Starter
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
22
Bob Cerelli said:
Are you trying to use Remote Desktop to connect TO a Windows2000 computer?
Yes. I using a WinXP Pro system and work and trying to connect to my Win2k Pro system at home. In fact I have tried directly from the server which is SBS 2003

I must admit, I am surprised that this has not been solved already. I just knew one of you guys was going to give me the answer that would make me slap my head like "DUH!":eek:

I guess I feel a little better about my inability to fix this issue.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
The problem is I wasn't aware of there being any Remote Desktop Host built into Windows2000 like XP has. Perhaps that's why there is no solution to this configurations.

You may be able to use some other remote control program like UltraVNC.
 

FESTO KGB

Thread Starter
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
22
Bob Cerelli said:
The problem is I wasn't aware of there being any Remote Desktop Host built into Windows2000 like XP has. Perhaps that's why there is no solution to this configurations.

You may be able to use some other remote control program like UltraVNC.

Ok, I will give that a try. Is there some other program/protocol for a Win2K machine to be a remote host?

If I can set the system to accept incoming connections then what can I do with the incoming connection?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
There are many programs that will let you remotely access a Windows2000 computer.

You may be able to use some other remote control program like UltraVNC. It's free and pretty good.
 

FESTO KGB

Thread Starter
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
22
Bob Cerelli said:
There are many programs that will let you remotely access a Windows2000 computer.

You may be able to use some other remote control program like UltraVNC. It's free and pretty good.

Ok thanks for the help. I am marking this as solved!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top