1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't access internet w/laptop

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by barb702, May 8, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. barb702

    barb702 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    524
    I have a HP laptop windows 8.1 w/WiFi that I bought last year and It has been working just fine until today. I was looking at my email and decided to go to another web site and kept getting "server not found" or "problem loading page". I tried other sites and got the same message using Mozilla Firefox, then I tried with Internet Explorer, same thing! Did a restart and still the same. HP did a network check and tells me to "reset my broadband modem and router" Duh!
    I'm using U-Verse and also have my desk top PC w/win.XP hooked to it, which I'm now using, turned it on and no problem! It must be something in the laptop! Help
    I have to leave for a while but will be back in a few hours.
    Barb
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an ipconfig /all

    whats the model of the HP PC
    how are you connected by cable to a router/modem or by wireless

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    60,842
    First Name:
    Chuck
    In addition to the information requested by Wayne ...

    1) Let us know if the Windows Device Manager is showing any errors or warnings for any hardware.

    2) If you are using a WiFi connection, does the laptop have a WiFi status light, and is it showing that WiFi is turned on?

    3) If you are using a WiFi connection, are you using any kind of password/encryption for the connection?
     
  4. barb702

    barb702 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    524
    I found it looking for the light you asked about. It was yellow and in airplane mode, I punched it and everything is fine now. I did a lot of work for nothing until I scrolled down and saw your post.LOL Thank you both for the help!! barb
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome, glad its sorted
     
  6. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    60,842
    First Name:
    Chuck
    You're welcome (and don't ask me how I knew about checking the WiFi status light/switch).
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1125627

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice