Solved: cant access just facebook ....

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cubicbull

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
17
hey fellows i have connected my 2 pc's via LAN
from one of my pc i can access facebook but from the other i cant !!! \

some one did do some thing in it thats a positive , i tried many things but i cant figure it out whats wrong !!

help me out
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
3,791

Perhaps someone added it to your list of Restricted Sites in Internet Explorer>Tools menu>Security tab.
 

cubicbull

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
17
hmmmmmmmm nah it doesnt have any restricted sites !!
it wont be that simple ! i guess
i did find some master password in it tough
i got rid of it thinking it would solve it ! but nahhhhhhhh
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
109
Are you using the same browser on both computers? Check your firewall/AV settings, or anything you may have to block websites. Also, check your hosts file (\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts) for anything abnormal.
 

cubicbull

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
17
yeah i use firefox in both !
windows firewall looks normal , i duno about whether Norton has some thing to do with it !! ?
how to check hosts file , and what is it ?
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
1
Once i faced this thing. Finally i figured out that it was a virus. Try to clean your Computer and repair your windows.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
109
You can open the hosts file in notepad, it is used to replace (IP) addresses for DNS (name) entries. For example, if you place a line like this in the file:

127.0.0.1 facebook.com

Windows will redirect all facebook.com queries to 127.0.0.1, which is your local loopback address.

Try disabling Norton for a few minutes too. And Chris' advice is also right, sometimes viruses mess up certain DNS entries, so, as a last resort, do some virus hunting :p.
 

cubicbull

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
17
well im sure my pc has no viruses so it could be the other thing :D
but i still dont get this '' what to do with the hosts file or where is it |!!
 

cubicbull

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
17
Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at www.facebook.com.

* The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
moments.

* If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
connection.

* If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.

this is what i get when i try facebook from any browser !!!
 

cubicbull

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
17
im genius enough lol :D

Open the hosts file
Windows XP run : C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc

following **** was found should i edit or delete it !! ???
127.0.0.1 localhost
127.0.0.1 www.facebook.com
127.0.0.1 youtube.com
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top