1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cant access Outlook.com

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Mikest, Jan 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mikest

    Mikest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    I am running Windows 7 on a Dell Inspiron 570


    Suddenly I can't get into outlook.com to access my Hotmail, wither through IE or Chrome.


    Just get 'Page cannot be displayed' error message. No problems with other websites.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try clearing out all internet temp files and cookies and see if it will allow you to connect
     
  3. Mikest

    Mikest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks - tried that but still no luck!
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,283
    First Name:
    Derek
    Download to Desktop: DDS by sUBs from one of the below locations

    http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/sUBs/dds.com
    http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/sUBs/dds.exe

    double click DDS to run it
    Make sure there is a check mark in DDS txt
    place a check mark in the attach.txt box and then press start

    Do not select any other options unless specifically told to

    When complete, DDS.txt will openand attach.txt will be minimized on your taskbar, click on it to open it

    Save both reports to your desktop.
    DDS.txt
    Attach.txt

    post the contents of both logs back here.
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,283
    First Name:
    Derek
    sorry can't read them
    please attach the logs to a reply so they can be read
    something has removed all line breaks and formatting
     
  6. Mikest

    Mikest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Hopefully you will get these
     

    Attached Files:

  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,283
    First Name:
    Derek
    are you getting the problem with chrome or with IE or both
    I cannot see any problems in the logs that I would normally expect to see when outlook.com is blocked
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,283
    First Name:
    Derek
    The only thing I can think of is Bitdefendr
    do you have an option to scan encrypted connections. When that is enabled, it can frequently block Hotmail/livemail/outlook.com and other secure sites by acting as a man in the middle proxy

    can you connect to other secure HTTPS sites like https://www.google.co.uk/?gws_rd=ssl
     
  9. Mikest

    Mikest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    I am getting the problem with both IE and Chrome.


    Cant see an option to scan encrypted connections in Bitdefender and I can access other sites including the link you have posted to google.
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,283
    First Name:
    Derek
  11. Mikest

    Mikest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    No, I get the same error message
     
  12. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,283
    First Name:
    Derek
    sometimes ISP name servers get confused and aren't updated
    I doubt that is the problem with Microsoft sites but it is a possibility
    lets se if changing to google dns servers make difference

    change them on the computer NOT on the VM modem/box
    https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using

    tell us if that makes a difference
     
  13. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    • Open the main Bitdefender interface and go to Settings (upper right corner)
    • From there, click on Privacy Control
    • Select the Antiphising tab
    • Switch Scan SSL to OFF.
    • Close the Bitdefender interface and try Outlook.com again.
     
  14. Mikest

    Mikest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Still got the same problem I'm afraid!
     
  15. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Did you restart your browser after changing settings in Bitdefender?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Cant access
  1. PK-her0
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    418
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1140582

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice