Solved: Can't add a printer on network with Windows 7 (32bit)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

daniels012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
417
I am trying to add a printer. I can see the printer on the network show up as one of my choices. I was thinking maybe there is no support for Windows 7 maybe? Not sure.

Any help is greatly appreciated since I can't print!

ThankYou,
Michael
 

daniels012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
417
Let me ask this, If i can load all the drivers from the website, can I try to install the network printer?

Michael
 

daniels012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
417
It says it cannot load this driver and settings on this version of windows?

Michael
 

daniels012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
417
Should I load this driver on the computer with the printer? The printer that has the printer is an XP machine
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,457
Should I load this driver on the computer with the printer?
No - the PC that has the printer should be OK and have the correct driver

The PC you are using to try and connect to the network printer needs the driver for the windows version it has

what happens when you add a network printer ?
whats the windows version on the PC
 

daniels012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
417
I am on Windows 7 on a new laptop. I am trying to access 2 network printers located on one machine in the office, it is an XP machine.
When I am on my Win7 machine I go to "Devices and Printers" then i click "add printer" then "add network printer" then I choose for the one I want in the searched printers. Once I have done this, I hit next and it says "checking windows update, this may take awhile". Then i get an error: Windows cannot find a driver on the network. to locate one manually click ok.

I try that then I click whatever it comes up to.

I dont know where to find the driver from there. If i go where i downloaded it, it has a .zip file???

Mcihael
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,457
is this for both the printers ?

you need to extract the zip file into a folder and then when you are asked about the driver you should be able to point to the folder with the driver in

these may help
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-7/share-files-and-printers-between-windows-7-and-xp/

> 1.) Verify that File and print sharing is turned on and properly configured
>
> on the XP machine.
>
> 2.) Locate and notate the Win XP computer name (i.e. "Desktop") (Found in
>
> System Properties in the Computer Name tab)
>
> 3.) Locate and notate the printer share name on the XP computer (i.e.
>
> "Printer") (Found under the Sharing tab on the Printer Properties page)
>
> 4.) On the windows 7 machine launch the "Add a Printer" wizard
>
> 5.) Choose "Add a local printer"
>
> 6.) Select "Create a new port" radio button and choose "Local Port" from the
>
> drop down menu
>
> 7.) Press Next
>
> 8.) In the "Enter Port Name:" box enter the following: \\Desktop\Printer
>
> where "Desktop" = the computer name from step 2 and "Printer" = the printer
>
> share name from step 3.
>
> 9.) Select the Printer driver from the list provided or use the "Have Disk"
>
> button to install the correct driver if it is not in the built-in list.
>
> It is critical that the driver you use is compatible.
>
> 10.) Press next
>
> 11.) Give the printer a distinct name and choose whether to set as the
>
> default.
>
> 12.) Press Next
>
> 13.) Print a test page to verify functionality.
>
> 14.) Press Finish
>
 

daniels012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
417
Ok, I did this on the "Add a local Printer" The driver for and Epson Photo RX510 m was my only choice. It does not work. But the Ricoh worked greatly!!

Now I am trying to delete my PORT. I have no idea how to do that!

Michael Daniels
 

daniels012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
417
I just realized this is 64 bit machine. I bought a 32 bit and when I did some kind of loading it said be sure that you have the drivers for 64bit windows

That could be my problem huh?

Michael
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,457
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top