1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't add a printer on network with Windows 7 (32bit)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by daniels012, Dec 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    I am trying to add a printer. I can see the printer on the network show up as one of my choices. I was thinking maybe there is no support for Windows 7 maybe? Not sure.

    Any help is greatly appreciated since I can't print!

    ThankYou,
    Michael
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  3. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Epson Rx595
    Also our copy machine at work we print on Aficio Ricoh 2000
     
  4. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Let me ask this, If i can load all the drivers from the website, can I try to install the network printer?

    Michael
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  7. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    It says it cannot load this driver and settings on this version of windows?

    Michael
     
  8. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Should I load this driver on the computer with the printer? The printer that has the printer is an XP machine
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    No - the PC that has the printer should be OK and have the correct driver

    The PC you are using to try and connect to the network printer needs the driver for the windows version it has

    what happens when you add a network printer ?
    whats the windows version on the PC
     
  10. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    I am on Windows 7 on a new laptop. I am trying to access 2 network printers located on one machine in the office, it is an XP machine.
    When I am on my Win7 machine I go to "Devices and Printers" then i click "add printer" then "add network printer" then I choose for the one I want in the searched printers. Once I have done this, I hit next and it says "checking windows update, this may take awhile". Then i get an error: Windows cannot find a driver on the network. to locate one manually click ok.

    I try that then I click whatever it comes up to.

    I dont know where to find the driver from there. If i go where i downloaded it, it has a .zip file???

    Mcihael
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is this for both the printers ?

    you need to extract the zip file into a folder and then when you are asked about the driver you should be able to point to the folder with the driver in

    these may help
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-7/share-files-and-printers-between-windows-7-and-xp/

     
  12. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Ok, I did this on the "Add a local Printer" The driver for and Epson Photo RX510 m was my only choice. It does not work. But the Ricoh worked greatly!!

    Now I am trying to delete my PORT. I have no idea how to do that!

    Michael Daniels
     
  13. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    I just realized this is 64 bit machine. I bought a 32 bit and when I did some kind of loading it said be sure that you have the drivers for 64bit windows

    That could be my problem huh?

    Michael
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/970002

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice