1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't block IP address

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mattbrook, May 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mattbrook

    mattbrook Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    SYSTEM: P3 - clone Win2K O/S SP2 on system.
    ROUTER: Linksys BEFSX41 v3

    My issue:I have to block two ip addresses 1 XP PC and 1 WIN2K PC from the internet. It use to work until one day the WIN2K pc stopped working. For some reason it just doesn't block it anymore !! What is even crazier is the fact if I log in as ADMINISTRATOR on that pc I still can not access the internet, but if I go in as a normal user... I can go on the net.

    I'm on a network with SERVER 2000 and 6 PC's
    The DNS range (from the router) is from 192.168.1.100 to 150...

    The IP address of the XP machine that still remains blocked is: 192.168.1.22
    WIN2K pc was 192.168.1.25 and change it to 192.168.1.125 just to make it within the range. Didn't work.

    Can I block the WIN2K pc from accessing the net with the admin tools from the server 2000 ? or do you have any tips that I can try from the router side. Please remember it did work. All I do is windows update and norton update. Just one day it stoped working.

    Thanks for your time :eek:
     
  2. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    One way is to assign an incorrect gateway and DNS address. Then don't have the user's on those computers have rights to change it back again.

    If you have a router that can block by MAC address you can try that as well.
     
  3. mattbrook

    mattbrook Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Sorry about the delay in my post. I had a death in the family and had to travel. I did as you said Bob.... looged on the Router and blocked the MAC address and then changed the DNS servers and GATEWAY.. rebooted.. Did and ipconfig to confirm yet it still can get to the net from the none Admin user side. Anything you can suggest ? Tx's for your help already :)
     
  4. mattbrook

    mattbrook Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Anyone have some advice on this ? :confused:
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Hard to believe you're accessing the Internet with nothing in the DNS and Default Gateway slots.

    Open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
     
  6. Jack Horner

    Jack Horner

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    914
    If you haven't already, try this. Give the computer in question a static IP outside of the DHCP range (Maybe 192.168.1.23), Then on the router, go to filters, and block that IP/IP range.
     
  7. mattbrook

    mattbrook Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Tx's guys I'm heading out of town till Saturday. I will try it when I get back and reply back to you y'all. Tx's
     
  8. SidewinderVW

    SidewinderVW

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Hello,
    I think I have a similar question.
    I don't run a server with numerous computer linked.

    I have a DSL with a hub. 3 computers attached, WinXP, Win98 and MacOS10.

    my bro with the XP has his computer logged on 24/7 with Bit Torrent on. Is there away I can limit or block his internet usage from my computer?
    Either by software or logging in the hub IP address?
     
  9. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    See Post #2.
     
  10. mattbrook

    mattbrook Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Ok here is my update:
    - Changed DNS to 1.1.1.1
    - Changed Gateway to 1.1.1.1
    - Blocked MAC ADDRESS
    - Can not ping yahoo,msn,espn.com
    Error:unknown host
    - Changed ip address from 192.168.1.125 to 192.168.1.25
    blocked both IP's
    - One note is that when I click on internet explorer in the bottom left hand site I see "finding site:cspec01"

    cspec01 is the name of my server
    The XP PC on the same network is still blocked and working fine so I believe it isn't the router.

    Here are my ipconfig/all results before:

    C:\Documents and Settings\administrator.FOODLAB>ipconfig/all

    Windows 2000 IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LABORATORY01
    Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . : foodlab.local
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : foodlab.local

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 3Com EtherLink XL 10/100 PCI For Com
    plete PC Management NIC (3C905C-TX)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-01-02-75-C8-D1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.125
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 206.47.244.88
    206.47.244.139




    and now:


    C:\Documents and Settings\administrator.FOODLAB>ipconfig/all

    Windows 2000 IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LABORATORY01
    Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . : foodlab.local
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : foodlab.local

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 3Com EtherLink XL 10/100 PCI For Com
    plete PC Management NIC (3C905C-TX)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-01-02-75-C8-D1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.25
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 1.1.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 1.1.1.1
    1.1.1.1


    any advice :confused:

    thanks for your time
     
  11. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    And with the incorrect gateway and DNS, can you ping external sites by IP and Name?

    It sounds like you can't - "Can not ping yahoo,msn,espn.com" - which is what you wanted, to block certain computers from accessing the Internet.

    Is there some other problem that remains?
     
  12. Jack Horner

    Jack Horner

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    914
    Not sure what your asking us, but if it is about the Cspec01, under Internet Options, change the default homepage to Blank
     
  13. mattbrook

    mattbrook Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Well I never tried pinging by IP address. Which is a great tip. But regardless I still can go out to the internet. Which is weird to me.
     
  14. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    From post #10 - "Can not ping yahoo,msn,espn.com"

    Are you saying on the computer with an incorrect gateway and DNS entry, you can still get to the Internet?
     
  15. mattbrook

    mattbrook Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Yup STILL can get to the internet ...... Crazy huh. One thing I have noticed was before going to the internet it say in the bottom right hand side "finding site cersep01" That's the server name. Any thoughts ? :confused:
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/363055

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice