1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't boot Vista - Error 17: File not found

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by vulpes, Jan 14, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vulpes

    vulpes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Yesterday, I installed the Windows Vista Service Pack 2 and now my notebook won't boot. It gives me this:


    Booting 'Windows Vista'

    acpi
    [activation "crack" reference removed by mod]

    Done!
    fallback 1
    find --set-root /bootmgr

    Error 17: File not found
    Booting 'Windows NT/2000/XP'

    fallback 2
    find --set-root /ntldr

    Error 17: File not found
    Booting 'Enter Command Line'

    Boot failed! Press any key to enter command line.



    I also updated the Nvidia driver and installed Orca and Bluestacks Android Emulator yesterday, if that helps.

    I have a Compaq Presario notebook, and Vista Home Premium. My notebook had 2 partitions, C:/ and D:/. C: was for Windows and other programs and D: was for games, videos, and pics.


    How big did I screw it up?
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,489
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the model number of that Compaq Presario notebook?

    What's the part/product number(P/N) on it?

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    What did you use to install Windows Vista SP2?

    How was it activated after installing it?

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. vulpes

    vulpes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for responding!


    Model number: CQ60 - 400EQ

    P/N: NY255EA#B1T


    I downloaded it from their Download Center. From here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=16468

    I just followed the instructions from the installer, my notebook rebooted, and then I received the confirmation that SP2 installed correctly. Nothing else happened.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,988
    First Name:
    Terry
    I removed the reference to an activation "crack." We do not support any such thing. Since it is not common for people to steal Vista, I'll give you a chance to explain that. And if your version is legit, ...

    Please run the MGA Diagnostic Tool and post back the report it creates:
    • Download MGADiag to your desktop.
    • Double-click on MGADiag.exe to launch the program
    • Click "Continue"
    • Ensure that the "Windows" tab is selected (it should be by default).
    • Click the "Copy" button to copy the MGA Diagnostic Report to the Windows clipboard.
    • Paste the MGA Diagnostic Report back here in your next reply.
     
  5. vulpes

    vulpes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    What do you mean activation crack? Isn't it from their own website?

    I can't even reach my desktop, let alone run a progrm...
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,489
    First Name:
    Frank
    Here is the support site for the Compaq Presario CQ60-400EQ Notebook (NY255EA)

    According to its product specifications section, it appears it came with FreeDOS and did not come with any version of Windows.

    It appears to have full driver support for Windows Vista and Windows 7, 32-bit and 64-bit.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,988
    First Name:
    Terry
    Attempt, often initially successful, to make a pirated Windows activate the same way a genuine version does.

    Depends on who "they" are.
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,489
    First Name:
    Frank
    The download link that you provided in post #3 is for the SP2(Service Pack 2) upgrade for Windows Vista 32-bit which was released in May 2009.

    Why is the SP2 upgrade being installed now?

    Did you recently install Windows Vista SP1 in that notebook?

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. vulpes

    vulpes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7

    Sorry, I thought you mean the link to the SP2.

    I don't know much about computers. A colleague of my father helped us buy a notebook cheaper, by buying it from a storehouse directly, rather then from the store. Than that colleague told us to leave him the notebook for a day to help us install the important programs. This is the Windows I had since the beginning.
     
  10. vulpes

    vulpes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    I tried to install Bluestacks, but it told me I need SP2, so I decide to install it. I had the same Windows for a few years, unchanged.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,988
    First Name:
    Terry
    It's only a suspicion but I think that the colleague was able to save you money by buying with FreeDOS and installing a pirated Vista. And now there is an incompatibility between the "crack" (code used to make the OS look legit) and SP2. Microsoft is continually improving their fraud detection.
     
  12. vulpes

    vulpes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Damn. If I buy Windows Vista, will I be able to install it? Or I need to do something else first?

    Also, even if I can access my notebook again, will I lose my saved data?
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,988
    First Name:
    Terry
    Yes, but it may be difficult to buy at this late date. See if the OEM offers it or maybe a set of Recovery DVDs (which would be less expensive and more convenient).

    Data that has been saved (copied or backed up) to external media is safe. Data that you only have the one copy of is in jeopardy. My way to back it up at this point is by using a "Rescue Disk" such as Puppy Linux. Those who are more hardware oriented advise to put the hard drive into an external USB enclosure and connect it to another computer to backup the data.
     
  14. vulpes

    vulpes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    I think it would be better to get the notebook to a tech repair center. I don't think I can pull it out on my own.


    Thanks for the help! And sorry for the bother.
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,988
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)

    No bother; we're here to try to help. Good luck.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Can't boot
  1. jak834
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    394
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1117508

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice