(Solved) Can't click from program to the Internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kevgp

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
96
OK, here's the scenario: I am in a program such as Microsoft Publisher. I try to click a menu option that says "go online" or something. It opens Internet Explorer and then... NOTHING. The site that was supposed to be activated by the program does not appear.

I have ZoneAlarm Pro version 3.0.133, and even when I clicked on a link in it (to go to a site for product upgrade), nothing happened. Do you think it's a ZoneAlarm setting or something else? Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2002
Messages
90
Well, I would disable ZA for a minute and see if the same thing happens with it disabled as long as you are comfortable doing so for a minute or two. If the pages open, then you know who your culprit is.

Also do a quick check through the programs menu on ZoneAlarm to see what is allowed and what is blocked. Right click ZA, choose restore..., click program control on the left, and then the programs tab on the right. Scan through all of them and see if you see publisher listed.
 

kevgp

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
96
I turned ZA off for a while, but still no click-through. Also, neither clip-art nor Publisher 2000 is even listed on the allowable programs.

Another thing: when I try a click-through, IE opens, but nothing else happens. Blank screen. But I can continue on to another webpage, such as my homepage or a bookmark.

Also, I have Win98 SE. I've seen some solutions for WinXP, but I'm not sure if those'll work for 98.

Thanks!
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Is this a full retail version, or a download? If its the full version, what is the link that you're clicking on? Does it say something like Online Help?

When the blank page opens, does it have an address in it, or is that blank also?

Regards

eddie
 

kevgp

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
96
Eddie! Thanks for taking a peek at my prob.

I was using a full version of Publisher 2000, but that happens with almost all of the programs I use. The menu item is "Microsoft Publisher Web Site", but after it opens a browser (or assumes one that's already open), nothing more happens. The screen and the URL field are blank, or in the case of an already open browser, the screen and URL field don't change.
 
Joined
Jul 31, 1999
Messages
112
I had the very same thing happen to me a while back. I would click on an e-mail link and Internet Explorer would open a blank page and do nothing! Here is your answer....

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;[LN];281679

It says that it's for IE but it also helps with the problem you describe

Please post to let us know if it helps!!
 

kevgp

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
96
Well whadayaknow!!

Yep, that worked! Thanks, safegezaaa. Now the links work fine. I've tried it with & without ZoneAlarm on, and links from different progrms (even ZA). Everything is fine. Consider this one resolved :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top