1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) Can't click from program to the Internet

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by kevgp, Feb 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kevgp

    kevgp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    OK, here's the scenario: I am in a program such as Microsoft Publisher. I try to click a menu option that says "go online" or something. It opens Internet Explorer and then... NOTHING. The site that was supposed to be activated by the program does not appear.

    I have ZoneAlarm Pro version 3.0.133, and even when I clicked on a link in it (to go to a site for product upgrade), nothing happened. Do you think it's a ZoneAlarm setting or something else? Thanks!
     
  2. Snorii

    Snorii

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Well, I would disable ZA for a minute and see if the same thing happens with it disabled as long as you are comfortable doing so for a minute or two. If the pages open, then you know who your culprit is.

    Also do a quick check through the programs menu on ZoneAlarm to see what is allowed and what is blocked. Right click ZA, choose restore..., click program control on the left, and then the programs tab on the right. Scan through all of them and see if you see publisher listed.
     
  3. kevgp

    kevgp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    I turned ZA off for a while, but still no click-through. Also, neither clip-art nor Publisher 2000 is even listed on the allowable programs.

    Another thing: when I try a click-through, IE opens, but nothing else happens. Blank screen. But I can continue on to another webpage, such as my homepage or a bookmark.

    Also, I have Win98 SE. I've seen some solutions for WinXP, but I'm not sure if those'll work for 98.

    Thanks!
     
  4. kevgp

    kevgp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    So, are there NO more thoughts on this??? :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Hiya

    Is this a full retail version, or a download? If its the full version, what is the link that you're clicking on? Does it say something like Online Help?

    When the blank page opens, does it have an address in it, or is that blank also?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  6. kevgp

    kevgp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    Eddie! Thanks for taking a peek at my prob.

    I was using a full version of Publisher 2000, but that happens with almost all of the programs I use. The menu item is "Microsoft Publisher Web Site", but after it opens a browser (or assumes one that's already open), nothing more happens. The screen and the URL field are blank, or in the case of an already open browser, the screen and URL field don't change.
     
  7. safegezaaa

    safegezaaa

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1999
    Messages:
    112
    I had the very same thing happen to me a while back. I would click on an e-mail link and Internet Explorer would open a blank page and do nothing! Here is your answer....

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;[LN];281679

    It says that it's for IE but it also helps with the problem you describe

    Please post to let us know if it helps!!
     
  8. safegezaaa

    safegezaaa

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1999
    Messages:
    112
    Looks like only part of the link got copied.

    Either copy and paste the link into a browser or go to
    http://support.microsoft.com
    aand search fr article number 281679

    Good Luck
     
  9. kevgp

    kevgp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    Well whadayaknow!!

    Yep, that worked! Thanks, safegezaaa. Now the links work fine. I've tried it with & without ZoneAlarm on, and links from different progrms (even ZA). Everything is fine. Consider this one resolved :D
     
  10. safegezaaa

    safegezaaa

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1999
    Messages:
    112
    Glad to help -
    Thanks to Micro$oft for producing more buggy crap!!
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117760

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice