1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't connect to internet at all

Discussion in 'Networking' started by KMama, Jan 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KMama

    KMama Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I have a Dell Inspiron 1720 and I can't get connected to the internet at all. Either wireless or hard wire. I have another laptop and desktop that are working fine, never any problems. This laptop has worked before, my brother in law had it before, and he said that he had connected before, but now nothing. Any little tips or tricks that anyone could share would be great. I have tried everything, reading forums and all, trying to find out how what the problem could be, but nothing. I must be missing something. Please help. Thanks

    Windows Vista Home Premium
    Service Pack 1
    32-bit
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Click Start.

    In the search bar type devmgmt.msc and hit Enter.

    Click the + next to the pane Network Adapters so it expands, showing all installed hardware.

    Take a screenshot of this window and attach the file in your next post.

    [I prefer screenshots, but if this is impossible or would require a tremendous amount of time and effort for some reason, an exact report of the mentioned entries would suffice.]

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------

    After providing the information above the dotted line, try the following:

    Below are the appropriate Network drivers for the Dell Inspiron 1720.

    Download, install, and reboot the machine.

    Intel (R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN

    Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------

    Also, while I don't believe it has something to do with the networking issue, it is important you update to Windows Vista SP2.

    Click Start.

    Click All Programs.

    Click "Windows Update."

    [Note: You should do this once we have solved the networking issue, since you won't be able to download the update until you have an active internet connection.]
     
  3. KMama

    KMama Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I don't have the internet on that laptop, so screen shots are out, sorry.
    But this is what is under Network Adapters

    Network Adapters
    - Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    - Bluetooth Device (RFCOMM Protocol TDI_
    - Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
    - Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    You will notice those two match the links to the drivers I supplied.

    Are there any ! ? or X's next to those entries in Device Manager?

    Regardless of the answer, please try downloading and installing the drivers I supplied before.
     
  5. KMama

    KMama Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    No there is not. When I open each one the device status states they are both working properly.

    How and I supposed to download them if I don't have an internet connection?
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Perform the following on the problem PC:

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    [Since you have no internet connection on the problem PC, you're going to have to paste the results to a .txt file, then transfer the file to a working computer.]

    -----------------------------------------

    You can download the installers from a working computer, then transfer them to the problem PC via flash drive, CD, etc.

    -----------------------------------------

    Try the following on the problem PC as well:

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  7. KMama

    KMama Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Alright, entered in those commands and restarted the system, I am now connected to the internet!!! Thanks you so much for your help!

    What was the problem? Am I in the clear now? Should I still install those drivers?
     
  8. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    You're welcome. :)

    I can't tell you for sure what the problem was, but those commands were more of a "broad-spectrum anti-biotic." DHCP could have been disabled or a number of things. Perhaps something I wouldn't have been able to recognize.

    Basically, those commands reset your network settings to default.

    Glad to hear it's working now, you should be good to go.

    Just remember to mark this thread as solved by clicking the "Mark Solved" button in the top-left corner of the thread.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/974102

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice