1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't connect to internet through my router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by fishy_fisherman, Aug 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fishy_fisherman

    fishy_fisherman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,
    I can connect with no problems through my ordinary internet cable but not when I instead connect it to the router and I put a cable between the router and computer. Then a red cross appears between my "Network" and my "Internet" and it says "there may be a problem with your domain name server" when I try to repair it. I can access the router settings by going to 192.168.1.1 but I don't know what to change. It's a Linksys WRT54GL and I'm on a windows vista. I've tried stuff like reseting the router and doing ipconfig /flushdns but no success.

    Some advice would be appreciated.
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi:May we see:
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

    Did this connection ever work ? If so what hardware/software changed ?
    Cable or DSL ?
     
  3. fishy_fisherman

    fishy_fisherman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Fredrik.HYDRAPUNK>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hydra
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 PCI-E Ethern
    et Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-54-34-14-47
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 26 August 2011 00:57:44
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 27 August 2011 00:57:44
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{3A462107-8485-4A44-ABE4-6174CDAB7
    149}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{E66B8E6D-D7A6-4D94-AFA5-D2DA38272
    22D}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{3A462107-8485-4A44-ABE4-6174CDAB7
    149}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{3A462107-8485-4A44-ABE4-6174CDAB7
    149}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Fredrik.HYDRAPUNK>




    The router is my parents old router that I have never used in this machine before. It used to work fine for them. When I put the cable directly in my machine instead of in the router everything works fine. DSL.
     
  4. nexxevo

    nexxevo

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    When you log into your router using the 192.168.1.1 do you see an internet IP? Does it say anything more than 0.0.0.0?
     
  5. fishy_fisherman

    fishy_fisherman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    The DNS:s says 0.0.0.0 if that's what you meant, here's some pictures of how it looks.
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us[​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    What is the WAN port of the router connected to? Your router shows an Internet IP of 192.168.1.8 which isn't valid.
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    ooo that's not good.... your router is either getting that information from the ISP (unlikely if you can go direct) or your router's config is bad. You should do a factory reset of the router, but before you do that, what modem do you have? If your modem is also a router, then the settings you have make sense.

    You may be able to fix this by switching the Local IP Address to 192.168.0.1 instead.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,562
    It looks like you are trying to cascade (daisy chain) two routers that are using the same LAN subnet. That seldom if ever works for internet access. Change one of the LAN subnets; for example, to 192.168.3.x).
     
  9. fishy_fisherman

    fishy_fisherman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Yes, the internet comes through a router I think (I live in a appartment in a basement and get the internet from a family upstairs). Anyway I changes the Local IP Address and voila, it worked. :)

    Thanks for the help guys! Cheers
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,562
    You're welcome. :)

    You can mark this solved using the [​IMG] button at the upper left of the page.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1014387