1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't connect to internet using ethernet cable and modem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Linazz, Aug 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Linazz

    Linazz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    So saturday, my friend and i build my computer. Everything worked just fine that day. Sunday i had no problem connecting to the internet. Sunday is also the day i set up a password for my admin account.

    Now when i came back from work monday, i tried to log in to my computer. As it appears, i forgot my password... (same i use on everything, so i must have messed up inputting my pass)

    So i did a windows reset, since i had no CD or USB to reset my pass.

    I tried installing windows, and it appears 'this copy of windows is not genuine'. I thought, okay, no prob, as long as i have all options.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    where did you get windows from - if it is genuine then you can contact Microsoft who will help you
    otherwise

    we do not support pirate software
    also as per the rules - we do not assist with passwords
     
  3. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,940
    and? Now you can't connect?

    Have you called MS to sort this out? They are generally pretty good about that, phone call is usually less than 10 or 15 minutes.
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,940
    whups........cross posted there.......:)
     
  5. Linazz

    Linazz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    I bought the Windows service pack at Azert.nl, along with my other pc parts.
    Saturday and sunday windows was properly installed. It is only after the reset a message showed on my desktop screen saying it's not genuine. (I did not download an illegal version of Windows)

    I did not end my first post correctly.

    So, monday i made a reset. And the cable was in my computer the whole time. After the reset, there was no internet connection. How can i fix this?

    Note that for my pc it is impossible to connect wireless.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what reset ?
    is the windows now authenticated correctly ? and you are nolonger getting the genuine message

    would you run
    Windows Validation
    Please run the MGA Diagnostic Tool and post back the report it creates:
    • Download MGADiag to your PC.
    • Double-click on MGADiag.exe to launch the program
    • Click "Continue"
    • Ensure that the "Windows" tab is selected (it should be by default).
    • Click the "Copy" button to copy the MGA Diagnostic Report to the Windows clipboard. Note nothing will appear to happen
    • Paste the MGA Diagnostic Report back here in your next reply.
     
  7. Linazz

    Linazz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    I've reinstalled windows, but it still shows the genuine message.
    As soon as i get home, i'll run MGADiag and post the Report back in my next reply.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i would call microsoft and see if they help- as valis posted - seems straight forward
     
  9. Linazz

    Linazz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Ok, so i am at home. Since my main computer has no net connection, i'm doing the stuff you asked me with my laptop. I saved MGADiag to a USB and ran the program on my pc. When i copied the file, i pasted in notepad, hoping to put the note on my USB and copy the result in here. But.... i can't seem to save the file to my computer... So what do i do next? If you don't need everything from MGADiag, ask me where to find what you need, and i'll post it manually in here... :S
     
  10. Linazz

    Linazz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    And by the way, at the bottom right of my screen, the message saying my windows isn't genuine, disappeared...
     
  11. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,940
    go to start > run > control > enter > click on system, and see what it says on the bottom......
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    thats strange should save

    lets start with the 1st 3 entries
    Windows Validation Data-->
    Validation Status:
    Validation Code:
     
  13. Linazz

    Linazz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Restarted pc, and now i can save:

    Diagnostic Report (1.9.0027.0):
    -----------------------------------------
    Windows Validation Data-->
    Validation Code: 0
    Cached Online Validation Code: N/A, hr = 0xc004f012
    Windows Product Key: *****-*****-RYXX2-CBJTJ-RWPHJ
    Windows Product Key Hash: g/SHCzLp75vU/eCyqKkqxypTY0A=
    Windows Product ID: 00359-OEM-8703944-71129
    Windows Product ID Type: 3
    Windows License Type: OEM System Builder
    Windows OS version: 6.1.7601.2.00010300.1.0.003
    ID: {F9E3FB9E-62C4-464A-B659-CF7DDE678981}(3)
    Is Admin: Yes
    TestCab: 0x0
    LegitcheckControl ActiveX: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Product Name: Windows 7 Home Premium
    Architecture: 0x00000009
    Build lab: 7601.win7sp1_rtm.101119-1850
    TTS Error:
    Validation Diagnostic:
    Resolution Status: N/A
    Vista WgaER Data-->
    ThreatID(s): N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Windows XP Notifications Data-->
    Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    File Exists: No
    Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    WgaTray.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    WgaLogon.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    OGA Notifications Data-->
    Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    OGAExec.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    OGAAddin.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    OGA Data-->
    Office Status: 109 N/A
    OGA Version: N/A, 0x80070002
    Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Office Diagnostics: 025D1FF3-364-80041010_025D1FF3-229-80041010_025D1FF3-230-1_025D1FF3-517-80040154_025D1FF3-237-80040154_025D1FF3-238-2_025D1FF3-244-80070002_025D1FF3-258-3
    Browser Data-->
    Proxy settings: N/A
    User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Win32)
    Default Browser: C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.exe
    Download signed ActiveX controls: Prompt
    Download unsigned ActiveX controls: Disabled
    Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins: Allowed
    Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe: Disabled
    Allow scripting of Internet Explorer Webbrowser control: Disabled
    Active scripting: Allowed
    Script ActiveX controls marked as safe for scripting: Allowed
    File Scan Data-->
    File Mismatch: C:\Windows\system32\wat\watadminsvc.exe[Hr = 0x80070003]
    File Mismatch: C:\Windows\system32\wat\npwatweb.dll[Hr = 0x80070003]
    File Mismatch: C:\Windows\system32\wat\watux.exe[Hr = 0x80070003]
    File Mismatch: C:\Windows\system32\wat\watweb.dll[Hr = 0x80070003]
    Other data-->
    Office Details: <GenuineResults><MachineData><UGUID>{F9E3FB9E-62C4-464A-B659-CF7DDE678981}</UGUID><Version>1.9.0027.0</Version><OS>6.1.7601.2.00010300.1.0.003</OS><Architecture>x64</Architecture><PKey>*****-*****-*****-*****-RWPHJ</PKey><PID>00359-OEM-8703944-71129</PID><PIDType>3</PIDType><SID>S-1-5-21-762135345-244565311-1203682052</SID><SYSTEM><Manufacturer>To Be Filled By O.E.M.</Manufacturer><Model>To Be Filled By O.E.M.</Model></SYSTEM><BIOS><Manufacturer>American Megatrends Inc.</Manufacturer><Version>P1.30</Version><SMBIOSVersion major="2" minor="7"/><Date>20120418000000.000000+000</Date></BIOS><HWID>B4CF3607018400FE</HWID><UserLCID>0409</UserLCID><SystemLCID>0409</SystemLCID><TimeZone>Romance Standard Time(GMT+01:00)</TimeZone><iJoin>0</iJoin><SBID><stat>3</stat><msppid></msppid><name></name><model></model></SBID><OEM/><GANotification/></MachineData><Software><Office><Result>109</Result><Products/><Applications/></Office></Software></GenuineResults>
    Spsys.log Content: 0x80070002
    Licensing Data-->
    Software licensing service version: 6.1.7601.17514
    Name: Windows(R) 7, HomePremium edition
    Description: Windows Operating System - Windows(R) 7, OEM_COA_NSLP channel
    Activation ID: 586bc076-c93d-429a-afe5-a69fbc644e88
    Application ID: 55c92734-d682-4d71-983e-d6ec3f16059f
    Extended PID: 00359-00174-039-471129-02-1033-7601.0000-2422012
    Installation ID: 001916033516720212381080335033459061375220637662225223
    Processor Certificate URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=88338
    Machine Certificate URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=88339
    Use License URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=88341
    Product Key Certificate URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=88340
    Partial Product Key: RWPHJ
    License Status: Initial grace period
    Time remaining: 42420 minute(s) (29 day(s))
    Remaining Windows rearm count: 3
    Trusted time: 8/29/2012 7:25:35 PM
    Windows Activation Technologies-->
    HrOffline: 0x00000000
    HrOnline: N/A
    HealthStatus: 0x0000000000000000
    Event Time Stamp: N/A
    ActiveX: Not Registered - 0x80040154
    Admin Service: Not Registered - 0x80040154
    HealthStatus Bitmask Output:

    HWID Data-->
    HWID Hash Current: MAAAAAEABAABAAEAAAACAAAAAAABAAEAln0mUQmpEsJ0xOjtwr/KSrQuipua+ZZj
    OEM Activation 1.0 Data-->
    N/A
    OEM Activation 2.0 Data-->
    BIOS valid for OA 2.0: yes, but no SLIC table
    Windows marker version: N/A
    OEMID and OEMTableID Consistent: N/A
    BIOS Information:
    ACPI Table Name OEMID Value OEMTableID Value
    APIC ALASKA A M I
    FACP ALASKA A M I
    HPET ALASKA A M I
    MCFG ALASKA A M I
    SSDT Intel_ AoacTabl
    AAFT ALASKA OEMAAFT
    SSDT Intel_ AoacTabl
    SSDT Intel_ AoacTabl
    SSDT Intel_ AoacTabl
    ASF! INTEL HCG
    BGRT ALASKA A M I
     
  14. Linazz

    Linazz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    When i troubleshoot i get this:

    Install a driver for your netword adapter

    Windows did not detect a properly installed network adapter. If you have a network adapter, you will need to re-install the driver.
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you post the results from post #11
    Control Panel>System

    also post a device manager screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if this does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb
    In the Start Search box type
    device manager and then press enter

    -------------------

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager


    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1066923

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice