1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't connect to my network or internet "Unidentified Network" I've tried EVE

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Collin88, Nov 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Collin88

    Collin88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hey guys, I’m getting to my wits end with my computer lately, I have no idea what’s going on, but recently I’ve been having some internet problems. Namely an Unidentified Network with no NETWORK access.

    Some information first, the NIC that I’m using is the Realtek PCIe Family Controller, I’ve updated the drivers, I’ve uninstalled, I’ve reinstalled. I’ve basically been on the internet for the past two days trying all the solutions. Including refreshing and renewing my ip, trying a static ip (although, I’m still not sure if I did this step correctly) I’ve tried disabling IPV6, I’ve tried adjusting my speedflux, believe me I’ve tried just about everything, I don’t have one blue link left when it comes to my google searches on fixing this problem.
    The problem is also intermittent with seemingly no reason whatsoever, some days Ill go without internet for the entire day, then the next day I’ll boot up my computer and I’ll have internet again. It should be noted that when I enable WIRELESS on my laptop, I’m able to connect to the network, but when I enable wired, I am not able to.

    Here is the ipconfig /all for when I’m connected wirelessly and have a connection.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Collin-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8723AE Wireless LAN 802.11n PC
    I-E NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-68-9D-BC-D8-F6
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 24 November 2012 02:01:04
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 December 2012 02:01:04
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.27.40.241
    212.27.40.240
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    C:\Windows\system32>

    And here is the ipconfig when I’m connected through the wired connection with no internet connectivity:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Collin-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-90-F5-D7-EF-DC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.155.12(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    C:\Windows\system32>

    It should be noted that I am using powerline adapters for my connection, but as I said, this problem only recently started cropping up. I went fine for almost a week with no problems, then all of a sudden it started happening.

    Thanks for the help in advance, im pulling my hair out over this, I’m still able to connect wirelessly so its not too much of an issue, but I prefer via Ethernet. I also need to know if its my network card that’s going bad in my laptop (just paid 2000 for this rig, so I need to know if I need to send it back or not, its still under warranty but Im currently living in Europe so I don’t want to have to pay shipping costs to the states to get it fixed if I don’t need to)
     
  2. Collin88

    Collin88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    UPDATE

    Problem fixed, had to reset my powerline adapters, so simple.
     
  3. Brenda89

    Brenda89

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Hi Colin, could you elaborate on how you reset the powerline adapters? It's the first I've heard of such thing as I'm pretty useless with computers. I have the same problem as you did and had done all the steps you have also, including static ip, disabling ipv6 and so on. I too am use Realtek.

    Any help would be much appreciated!
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1078012

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice