1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: cant connect to my wireless network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by rushton, May 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rushton

    rushton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    I have just put a network card in my desktop, windows xp recognizes it but i cant make connection to my network, it starts to look but says can`t connect to my network
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Let's see this:
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. rushton

    rushton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Microsoft Windows XP [versie 5.1.2600
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\melanie>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP-configuratie

    Host-naam . . . . . . . . . . . .: DCY83Y1J
    Primair DNS-achtervoegsel. . . . .:
    Knooppunttype: . . . . . . . . . .: onbekend
    IP-routering ingeschakeld. . . . .: nee
    WINS-proxy ingeschakeld . . . . . : nee
    DNS-achtervoegselzoeklijst. . . . : Belkin

    Ethernet-adapter LAN-verbinding:

    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel: Belkin
    Beschrijving . . . . . . . . . . .:
    Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-12-3F-AE-37-E0
    DHCP ingeshakeld. . . . . . . . . : ja
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld. : ja
    IP-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.4
    Subnetmasker. . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP-server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    142.161.130.155
    142.161.2.155
    Lease verkregen . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, May 08, 2011 12:09:31 PM
    Lease verlopen . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 18, 2038 10:14:07 PM


    Ethernet-adapter Draadloze netwerkverbinding:

    Status van medium . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Beschrijving . . . . . . . . . . .:
    D-Link Air DWL-510 Wireless PCI Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-88-3F-36-55

    C:\Documents and Settings\melanie>
    C:\Documents and Settings\melanie>
     
  4. rushton

    rushton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Sorry but we emigrated from the Netherlands and thats why it`s a Dutch version of Windows XP
     
  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Can you translate this for me?
    Ethernet-adapter Draadloze netwerkverbinding:

    Status van medium . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Beschrijving . . . . . . . . . . .:
    D-Link Air DWL-510 Wireless PCI Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-88-3F-36-55

    And,are there no ipaddresses for this entry(dhcp server/dns/gateway ?
    Make sure that all these are enabled.

    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser (computer browser will start when needed)
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic
    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
    __________________

    And that all these settings are correct.
    To obtain dns and ip address automatically XP

    Select Start > Settings > Network Connections.
    • Double-click the Connection icon of the connection you wish to modify to open the Local Area Connection Status window.
    • Click the Properties button to open the Local Area Connection Properties window.
    • Click to highlight Internet Protocol (TCP/IP).
    • Click the Properties button to open the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties window.
    • TCP/IP Properties window, IP Address tab
    • Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
    • Select Obtain DNS server address automatically.
    • Click OK to return to the Local Area Connection Properties window.
    • Click OK to return to the Network Connections window.
     
  6. rushton

    rushton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Ethernet-adapter - wireless network connection
    Status of ?? - ?? disconnected
    description .................................................
    D-link air
    physical address..............00-0D-88-3F-36-55
     
  7. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    And we are talking about the wireless connection as the problem,correct?
    Is that all the ipconfig info on that adapter ?

    I'll be out for a while.Check with you when I get back
     
  8. rushton

    rushton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    i guess so,
     
  9. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    And you performed all of the steps I outlined in post #5 ?
    And still the same ipconfig results?

    These results look incomplete.
    Ethernet-adapter Draadloze netwerkverbinding:

    Status van medium . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Beschrijving . . . . . . . . . . .:
    D-Link Air DWL-510 Wireless PCI Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-88-3F-36-55
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,532
    Do you have the latest wireless driver from D-Link's web site? Are you initially trying with your router's encryption disabled? Make sure you are not locked out by MAC Address filtering on the router.
     
  11. rushton

    rushton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    I have disabled the encryption on my router and now I can get online but if I go into the router now and enable the encryption then I can`t get online, what am I doing wrong ?
     
  12. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    What encryption protocol are you using/Wep/wpa,etc ?

    From the D-link site:protocols supported.
    WPA** -- Wi-Fi Protected Access (64-, 128-WEP with TKIP, MIC, IV Expansion, Shared Key Authentication)
     
  13. rushton

    rushton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    I was using WPA/WPA2 but I have disabled this so I can access internet
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,532
    It's an old adapter. Make sure you have the latest driver from D-Link's web site. With the latest driver it can support WPA, but you may have to use WPA instead of WPA/WPA2 on the router.
     
  15. rushton

    rushton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    I only have WPA/WPA2 on my router
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/995719