Solved: Can't connect to wireless internet anymore

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kylerweaver

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
6
I used to use several different wireless networks (home, friend's place, cafe etc.) to connect to the internet without issue. But a few weeks ago, I stopped being able to get on the internet at all. I've tried with several different networks, and all of them are the same case. It can detect and connect to the network itself, but not to the internet - "local only". I've done diagnose and repair with all of them, but no help there.

I'm using an HP Pavillion dv9000 laptop with Windows Vista Home Basic. Help!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,121
Can you get internet access with an ethernet connection?

Try ...

(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

kylerweaver

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
6
It's not a firewall, I haven't installed one, and my tech savvy friend looked and said it's not that.

When I click "start", there are only 2 things that say "programs" - "default programs", and "all programs". Neither of those have anything called "accessories" in them. I am running Vista, maybe you're talking about XP...
 

kylerweaver

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
6
It's not a firewall, I haven't installed one, and my tech savvy friend had a look and said it's not that.

When I click start, the only things that say programs are "default programs" and "all programs". Neither of those have anything called "accessories" in them. Is there a different way to get to that page?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,121
OK, then, "All Programs" instead of "Programs." If the entire Accessories folder is missing you have far bigger problems than just wireless networking.
 

kylerweaver

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
6
Ok, I found the prompt and entered the commands, then rebooted. But I'm still having the same problem. More suggestions?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,121
More suggestions?
Yes; I think you still owe an answer to "Can you get internet access with an ethernet connection?".

For an attempted wireless connection please show ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

kylerweaver

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
6
Yes, I can connect with an ethernet connection.

Here are the results of the CMD thing:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Quinlan>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Kyles-
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3A-54-C7-F3
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9110:5a4:40b4:8998%16(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.137.152(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.105.28.11
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-34-88-90
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d893:66ee:35ff:6aa7%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.5(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 14, 2009 12:05:28 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 12:05:27 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.gateway.2wire.net
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 17:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{243B0F5F-5DA2-4C72-A6BC-8077295C0
99D}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{243B0F5F-5DA2-4C72-A6BC-8077295C0
99D}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 19:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{9E947B2F-7B82-4948-972F-CA3BF94E6
1DF}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 21:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Quinlan>
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,121
Assign a valid static IP configuration or, better, use a dynamic connection ...

To configure a dynamic IP address on your Windows Vista computer:

1. Click Start.
2. Select Network, then Network and Sharing Center, and click Manage network connections from the list of tasks.
3. Right click your wireless connection and click Properties.
4. Select Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) from the list and click the Properties button.
5. Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
6. Select Obtain DNS Server address automatically.
7. Click OK.
8. Click Close.
 

kylerweaver

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
6
I am online! Thank you so much!

How can I prevent this from happening in the future though, I don't remember changing these settings. Was it automatic?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,121
How can I prevent this from happening in the future though ...
Make sure that no one else has access to your user account. While nothing is impossible it's highly unlikely to happen by accident, and there is no reason for malware to do such a thing.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top