1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't connect to Yahoo Messenger

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Shekar, Jan 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Shekar

    Shekar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    I am using wireless connection to connect to internet, I am able to browse all the interset sites. I am NOT able to logon in Yahoo Messenger...its giving me below error...

    Can't connect to Yahoo Messenger....with a popup....

    You are not online...

    Modem Users <Try Again>

    LAN/Firewall

    Change Setup Proxy

    -----------------------------------------

    can anybody help me on this.

    Thanks,
    Shekar
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Welcome to TSG :)

    Is it set to connect behind a proxy?
     
  3. Shekar

    Shekar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Hi Cheeseball81,

    Thanks for the response.

    Not sure what do you mean by "Is it set to connect behind a proxy?"

    Thanks,
    Shekar
     
  4. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Launch Yahoo Messenger
    Cancel out of the Sign In box
    Messenger should still be up
    Click on Messenger
    A drop down menu should appear
    Choose Connection Preferences
    Select No Proxies
    Click Apply, OK
    Click Sign In and try to log on now
     
  5. Shekar

    Shekar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    I tried that its still not able to connect. Also, all my Preferences options are DISABLED, I am not able to select any option on the left.
     
  6. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    They are greyed out only because you aren't online.

    Instead of No Proxies, select Use Proxies.
    Check Enable HTTP proxy.

    Here is where you will have to play around.
    For Server Name, try some of these:

    scs.msg.yahoo.com
    scsa.msg.yahoo.com
    scsb.msg.yahoo.com
    scsc.msg.yahoo.com

    For Server Port, try any of these:

    20,23,25,80,119,5050,8001,8002

    I think 80 would work.

    Click Apply, OK
    Try logging in.
     
  7. Shekar

    Shekar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    I tried all the option "no luck"...is there any other way to connect?
     
  8. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    What firewall are you using?
     
  9. Shekar

    Shekar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    I removed my firewall and its working now....thanks for all your help!!!
     
  10. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    You're welcome :)

    You can mark your thread "Solved" from the Thread Tools drop down menu.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/430760

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice