Solved: can't connect??

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

masconomo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
219
Ok ...here it is

1. Can't find server is the page with the IE browser -- cannot open page
2. BUT - my Comcast cable connection works with my "left" computer thru router (and direct) -- but not on my "right" computer

1. the network connections LAN says its connected
2. I've tried the following but nothing has worked

- turned off firewalls
- direct to modem (no router)
- updated realtek lan driver
- ran all spyware, malware etc
- flushed dns cache
- bought an ethernet adapter to go through usb connection (thinking the ethernet card might be gone).

Nothing has helped. I'd be grateful for any suggestions. Thanks!
 

masconomo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
219
here's the error that comes up when trying to open IE -- res://c:\windows\system32\shdoclc.dll/dnserror.htm
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
1,122
1. Open Internet Explorer 7.
2. Click Tools, and then click Internet Options.
3. Click the Advanced tab.
4. Under Reset Internet Explorer Settings, click Reset.
for IE7

IE6
tools
internet options
advanced tab
restore defaults

joan
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,424
Do the below repairs and then please show ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

masconomo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
219
Hi -- unfortunately the stack repairs didn't work. Here's my IPCONFIG ALL info;


C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Pavilion753
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-10-DC-78-FA-FA
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.71.226
68.87.73.242
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 29, 2008 6:41:51 P
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,424
Is your other computer using the same DNS Servers? If not, what?

Please open a Command Prompt, try the following pings, and show the results the same way you posted the ipconfig /all

ping 192.168.1.101 [change if the PCs IP address has changed]
ping 192.168.1.1
ping 206.190.60.37
ping yahoo.com
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,424
You can do them on the other one to see what the results are supposed to be, but I want to see the results for the "bad" PC.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top