Solved: Can't connnect to internet via Wi-fi only works if i use cable!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Steveo46

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Messages
6
Before we begin you guys need to know I am not tech savvy. I know the basics about computer usage but that's about it. I am however savvy enough to follow whatever instructions you guys give me. I'm only 20 so I'm not that Tech stupid.

Anyway my computer just randomly stopped connecting to the intenet. I checked my other computers and phone and found they were all working fine. I was having internet problems pior to this happening (internet was being very slow and some web pages and some videos wouldn't load. I think the latter had to do with flash player though.) I had also been doing some stupid stuff on my comp that I know can give you viruses. Furthermore I also knew that due to previous virus's I was not able to do a restore. So as you have probably gathered my computer was pretty buggered even before this problem. So decided to restore to factory default using some backup images I made when I first got the comp. That went smoothly however the internet stilll doesn't work unless I plus it in using a ethernet cable.

I'm pretty worried because I see no solutions anywhere on the internet but I have read some people having the same problem and none of them seem to fix it :(
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Messages
71
Hello,

I'm guessing you are probabily missing some drivers for your computer. Can you give us some computer specs? (Operating System, Model, Hardware Information, etc.) If you don't know this information please run Tech Support Guys SysInfo Utility at static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe

Have a Nice Day!
 

Steveo46

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Messages
6
here it is
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
Processor Count: 8
RAM: 6055 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family, -1260 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 244191 MB, Free - 203656 MB; D: Total - 340684 MB, Free - 340158 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer Inc., K53SV
Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated and Enabled
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Messages
71
Thanks...

Could you also tell me your computer Manufacturer and the Model?

Click Start > Right-Click Computer > Properties
Then under System it should list your manufacturer and model number.
 

Steveo46

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Messages
6
well I did what you said and it only told me it was an Asus (which I already knew) but on the bottom of my computer there is a sticker that says Model: A53S. is that what ya need?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Messages
71
Yep, thanks.
Here's a possible solution...
Go to... http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=K53SV and select your OS (Windows 7 64 Bit)
Then Scroll down to Wireless, click to expand
Try to install the first one (Atheros Wireless Lan Driver and Application)
1: Click the Global button to download
2: Download .zip file, extract
3: Go in folder and click setup.exe and follow install instructions

Note: I've never had anything like this happen to me before, so there no guarantee it will work. You may have to install more than one of those Wireless drivers if not all of them.
 

Steveo46

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Messages
6
well there is no setup.exe file. there are only two exe files and they are PNPINST.exe and PNPINST64.exe. I tried running them both and it said reading hardware ID from INI file has failed.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Messages
71
Alright, try this.
1. Download this one from the Global button... (Same Site)
Description Intel(R) WiFi Wireless LAN Driver
File Size
49,95 (MBytes) 2011.01.19 update
Download from
Global (DLM) Global P2P
2. Unzip the Folder
3. Go in the Install folder and run Intel PROSet Wireless.msi
Let me know what happens.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Messages
71
Alright. I tried everything I thought would work, it seems like you have all the drivers you would need... Possibly try the following links to update Windows 7 drivers and to improve WiFi. I honestly have nothing else that I could think of to fix this issue. I will be keeping an eye on this thread in hopes that someone else has a solution to this issue.

http://www.microsoft.com/athome/setup/wirelesstips.aspx#fbid=bzFqi6eMbmW
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows7/Update-a-driver-for-hardware-that-isnt-working-properly

Sorry and Good Luck.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top