1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't connnect to internet via Wi-fi only works if i use cable!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Steveo46, Feb 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Steveo46

Steveo46 Thread Starter

Before we begin you guys need to know I am not tech savvy. I know the basics about computer usage but that's about it. I am however savvy enough to follow whatever instructions you guys give me. I'm only 20 so I'm not that Tech stupid.

Anyway my computer just randomly stopped connecting to the intenet. I checked my other computers and phone and found they were all working fine. I was having internet problems pior to this happening (internet was being very slow and some web pages and some videos wouldn't load. I think the latter had to do with flash player though.) I had also been doing some stupid stuff on my comp that I know can give you viruses. Furthermore I also knew that due to previous virus's I was not able to do a restore. So as you have probably gathered my computer was pretty buggered even before this problem. So decided to restore to factory default using some backup images I made when I first got the comp. That went smoothly however the internet stilll doesn't work unless I plus it in using a ethernet cable.

I'm pretty worried because I see no solutions anywhere on the internet but I have read some people having the same problem and none of them seem to fix it :(

2. simsboy27

simsboy27

Hello,

I'm guessing you are probabily missing some drivers for your computer. Can you give us some computer specs? (Operating System, Model, Hardware Information, etc.) If you don't know this information please run Tech Support Guys SysInfo Utility at static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe

Have a Nice Day!