Solved Solved: cant delete folder

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

paul67

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
449
My mother was the previous owner of the computer that is now mine can't delete the folders she left on it.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Click Start > Programs > Accessories > right-click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Type: RD /S /Q "Full Path of Folder" (with quotes)
 

paul67

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
449
When you say full path the folder name is brenda1 it's in data in users folder so what do I type
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Go to the folder itself and copy the path you see in the search bar. Paste it into the command prompt, between the quotes.

Example:

Let's say I needed to delete the java folder:

RD /S /Q "C:\WINDOWS\java"

Press Enter.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
My mother was the previous owner of the computer that is now mine can't delete the folders she left on it.
Hello Paul67,

Are you getting an error message when you attempt to delete the files/folders? If so, what is it?

Is the user account you are on an administrator account?

Lastly, you can try using a program such as Unlocker to delete stubborn files/folders.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
I use an older version of Unlocker as the latest versions are always blocked by my antivirus. I could let it in anyway, but it comes bundled up with crapware/adware (Babylon). That's why I don't recommend it anymore, as too many people will not notice it while in the install process and end up with annoying toolbars in their browser. Once Babylon gets in, it invades the whole registry!
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
I use an older version of Unlocker as the latest versions are always blocked by my antivirus. I could let it in anyway, but it comes bundled up with crapware/adware (Babylon). That's why I don't recommend it anymore, as too many people will not notice it while in the install process and end up with annoying toolbars in their browser. Once Babylon gets in, it invades the whole registry!
I have dealt with Babylon before - it is quite the pain. I was not aware that it came bundled with Unlocker. It has been some time since I freshly downloaded the program myself.

Thanks for the info. (y)
 

paul67

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
449
Sorry was a bit busy not sure what I did but seem to have sorted it,just logged on to make sure and folder's are still gone.
Thanks ;)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top