1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't find back slash on an american keyboard

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hoopy_1888, Mar 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hoopy_1888

    hoopy_1888 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Hi,

    this is starting to drive me crazy :confused: :mad: :confused: :mad: :confused:

    I bought a new keyboard from ebay. The keys on it are set out in American format. So, there is no back slash next to the z like on UK keyboards. My language settings are all set to UK. Can anyone tell me what keys to use to get a back slash ??!?!?


    Thanks
     
  2. putasolution

    putasolution

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,823
    \ and | is where # and ~ are on the UK kb, ie to the left of the enter key
     
  3. hoopy_1888

    hoopy_1888 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    I've got a Microsoft Intellipoint keyboard. I've attached a picture to let you see it. All I have under my enter key is the shift key

    hoopy
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,912
    Its right there... right above "enter" its the \ | key....
     

    Attached Files:

  5. hoopy_1888

    hoopy_1888 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    But my keyboard settings in the control panel are set to UK. So when I press that button it gives me #~... Would I need to set it to US before I would have a backslash on this keyboard :confused: ??(I hadn't even thought of that and its soooo simple, like me :eek: :eek: :eek: )

    hoopy
     
  6. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,912
    Uh, I don't know but that sound logical.. If you use a US key board set it to US..

    How else will the comp know its a US board.
     
  7. hoopy_1888

    hoopy_1888 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    I feel like such an idiot. :eek:
    I'm sorry for wasting your time but thank you so much for your help. (y)

    hoopy
     
  8. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,912
    No prob, now you know and can help some oone else..
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/348248