1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't format and "Parameter is incorrect" message

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ryutso, Apr 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ryutso

    Ryutso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    I had a WD External Hard drive but the USB connector broke off inside the case, so I broke the case open (Voided my warranty) and put it inside a Sabrent SATA drive enclosure:

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?Sku=M501-1031

    Now I can't format it (The percentage doesn't go up in the command prompt) and it keeps saying that the Parameter is incorrect. I've backed up all the files I just want to be able to use it again.

    Anyway to salvage it?
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Use Disk Management. Remove the partitions so the drive is blank and unallocated and then make a new one.

    Right-click Computer > Manage > Disk Management.
     
  3. Ryutso

    Ryutso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Vista hangs at Disk Management. Stops at "Connecting to Virtual Disk Service". Anything else?
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    See if DM works with the drive disconnected.

    It's hard to tell if it is the case or the drive that is causing problems. Put the drive back inside, use Disk Management to repartition and reformat. Then try the case again. If you can access it OK in the computer and it still doesn't work, then the case is faulty or incompatible with the drive.

    Is there a jumper on that drive for compatibility?
     
  5. Ryutso

    Ryutso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    So your saying take the drive out of the case, put it in my tower and see if DM works that way?

    I also purchased a SATA to USB converter. Could I use that to see if DM works?

    And sorry for my ignorance but what is a "jumper"?
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    That's how you can tell if the drive has problems or the case has problems.

    A jumper is a small plastic connector (metal inside) that connects 2 tiny posts to complete a circuit and alter the characteristics of a drive. If you have one, you'll see it on the drive with some unused posts nearby.
     
  7. Ryutso

    Ryutso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    And where on the drive would the jumper be? Would it be easily seen?
     
  8. Ryutso

    Ryutso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Can I bump for help?
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Next to the power connector, probably.
     
  10. Ryutso

    Ryutso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    It's a SATA drive so I don't know where exactly it would be.

    Okay. The drive is now out of the case I purchased. So I connect it now and use Disk management?
     
  11. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Yes do it...the jumper only matters if the drive is 3.0 used in a 1.5 environment.
     
  12. Ryutso

    Ryutso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    The drive is a 2.5" SATA.
     
  13. Ryutso

    Ryutso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Bump with more info: I deleted the partition and am now waiting on the formatting.

    Will post again with what happens.
     
  14. Ryutso

    Ryutso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Well it took a while but it's working now INSIDE the case. What I had to do was:

    1. Take the hard drive out of the case and connect it to my desktop with a SATA to USB connector.
    2. Run Disk Management and delete the partition, then reformat it.
    3. Put it back in the case
    4. Ran Disk Management again to delete the partition and quick format it.

    It's working again. Please close this or archive it for people later.
     
  15. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    You have to close it by using thread tools at the top of the post. Great news.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/703155

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice